Your thoughts on YOUMAIL/

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by ryangab, Oct 6, 2008.

  1. ryangab

    ryangab New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your thoughts on YOUMAIL/

    I am thinking about using youmail but I'm not sure yet. Who has this and is it really worth getting. I know its free but just curious.Unsure
  2. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    This actually looks pretty good. The YouGreet function sounds really great for having one voicemail message for friends and another for work. I will definitely look into this.

    UPDATE: Apparently Sprint charges you $0.20/minute for forwarded calls, even to this service. So I guess I will stick with the regular voicemail, heh heh.
  3. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    been using it for quite a while.. it's great imo.

    potQ9c

    (i am with Verizon so no extra charges)
  4. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have used it...........

    I have it turned off right now. You can try it, set up your account, and temprarily disable it. I have Verizon...no forwarding charges, some carriers charge for forwarding. It does work well........I just had an issue with another program on my phone. I have to decide which one I like the most. Posted via Q9m w / Skyfire
  5. I use it. Love it.
    However, vm messages won't show up in your vm count on your device.
    best bet is to use bubble sms with it so you know you have a message.
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup.. that is the only (minor) downside of Youmail...
  7. However, since they added the personalized greeting from your address book, I get raves about how can people get that feature.
    Wouldn't live without it.
    RB, can it be set to prompt you for a password?
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    ditto here... many have asked, some have signed up i know (and when i call those people i'm like, this is pretty cool :}

    yup: http://www.youmail.com/youmail/help/view/faq_auto_login
  9. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    True....no VM notification via the normal indicator, but, if you turn on txt transcription you get the vm transcribed and txt'd to you.

    That is the second coolest part.
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    agreed... and that is how i know there's voicemail.
  11. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    I get the voicemail indicator on my Q for youmail.
    Check the settings on the website. There is a selection to allow this..should be in the same area where you select whether or not you want to receive a text message.
  12. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see that option in there. Can you be a little more specific?
  13. mbrevard

    mbrevard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of the many things I like is if my phone is off or dead I still get a text the next I turn it on letting me know what I have missed a call.
  14. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    ================================================
    When I have a Homescreen that has the Icon bar....I get the Voicemail icon in the Bar.
    ==================================
    Never Mind....it was one left over from before I changed back this morning.
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, i would like to know also (i suspect Marc - Youmail would have told me this since i asked him for it a few times)
  16. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    The personal greatings are Great!

    The personal greetings are Great! My wife just called and I had to let it go to voicemail .....I set the message up this morning. I have to show her how to set her's up tonight now! I've been off today so I got the issues with "Tell Me Text" and the settings solved. I was getting to many "talking" texts for every voicemail call. i just get one message now!
  17. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Crashdau.....I gotta check on my home PC... internet access is filtered at my job.
  18. ryangab

    ryangab New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    so I have Sprint...that means I will be charged to use this app?
  19. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    I believe so.

    ==========================
    I have heard that sprint charges for "custom" voice mail alert texts. Check with your provider.
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup... few Sprint customer/members here liked the service but did not want to pay (can't blame them)

Share This Page