yahoo mail help

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by jazaddict, Dec 27, 2007.

  1. jazaddict

    jazaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    yahoo mail help

    did the auto setup routine, no domain name, saved password.
    the connection process asks me for the password anyway, and then the connection restarts in a loop.
    any suggestions ?
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if your trying to setup yahoo as a pop account you need the premium account which you pay for
    if you want yahoo on your Q search for the IMAP setup here and apply that
  3. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0

    Even with IMAP, some users get what the OP is talking about. It sometimes works, sometimes doesn't.
  4. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    the auto detect setup should use Yahoo IMAP settings
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    oh ok
    well maybe the OP will elaborate on which they were trying to use
  6. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    think he did, ......"did the auto setup routine " kinda vague though.

    as mentioned, yahoo is funny like that :)
  7. Qool Qustomer

    Qool Qustomer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. jazaddict

    jazaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Thanks for the responses. I don't know whether it was an IMap setup or not, so it wasn't so much vague as totally ignorant ;)
    I'll follow that link as soon as I can pry the phone out of my wife's clutches (her fone dontcha know :D )
    Regards.
  9. jazaddict

    jazaddict New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    oops! the thread wants me to login :( .....thanx anyway Qool Customer. I'll search on IMAP & we'll see.....unless u wanna copy & paste the article :)
  10. gordymouw

    gordymouw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    yahoo plus problem

    OK I've been reading several threads and can't find any on my exact problem.

    1.. Moto Q
    2. Windows Moble 5
    3. subscribe to Yahoo mail plus

    I cant get my Yahoo email to work after a master reset. I subscribe to yahoo mail plus so pop3 should work, but automatic settings don't work as yahoo just keeps asking me to log in again and again.

    please help?
  11. Qool Qustomer

    Qool Qustomer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    New settings from AT&T

    I noticed that AT&T has made some changes to POP3 e-mail. Here are the new directions:


    1. Open your email client program.
    2. Locate the email account settings for your particular client.
    3. Change the POP server to pop.att.yahoo.com.
    4. Change the SMTP server to smtp.att.yahoo.com.
    5. Check the option labeled Use an encrypted connection (SSL).
    6. Change the SMTP port to 465.
    7. Check the option labeled Use an encrypted connection (SSL).
    8. Change the POP3 port to 995.
    9. Confirm the above settings before clicking OK.

    I found that list here -- http://helpme.att.net/article.php?item=10918. If you have problems, that's a good place to start.

Share This Page