woah..it worked

Discussion in 'Q Home Screens and Wallpapers' started by brandon.roeder, Oct 20, 2008.

  1. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Moto_Animation files, loads of colors!

    I found this file in the \windows folder..called moto_animation

    It looked like the default startup animation..but is much shorter.

    I figured I'd try and see if it would work as the startup animation..and it does. :smile:

    Now the phone boots 3x's faster :)

    I'm gonna mod it a little to take away the purple..I may just make a black & white one

    Enjoy? I guess :smile:

    Edit:

    Ive included a bunch of new colors, along with the "hello moto" wav file to change your startup sound.

    Directions:

    Rename the files to whatever your carriers stuff is named (Verizon is "vzw_startup_sound" and "vzw_animation")

    Backup the default files
    Then replace the files w/ the new ones.

    Reboot, and enjoy :)

    Click to download hello moto Start Up Sound!

    Click to download Start Up animations!
  2. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice! and if ya can...post up a quick how to...for others...and a refresher for me! and all black would be very sweet!!
  3. BoostedKnight

    BoostedKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    That looks kinda cool actually. How'd you set it as the startup animation?
  4. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just finished making a black, blue, pink, and green one.

    Ill post em..along with a quick tutorial sometime tomorrow. :)

    This looks sweet! No more verizon 61 minute animation :)
  5. BoostedKnight

    BoostedKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ha, awesome! I look forward to seeing it tomorrow. It'd be nice to not have to wait 10 minutes for the phone to boot up.
  6. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    easiest way probably is to rename it to vzw_animation.jpg...in my case!
  7. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, thats what i did.

    Though you could always remap the registry to another location.
  8. BoostedKnight

    BoostedKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt the vzm name would work for me being on att, but I figured the process would work the same. After taking a look through my \windows folder, I don't see the same file anywhere in there like you randomly found. :-(
  9. schlieph

    schlieph New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    look for these files ... attpowerup.jpg and attpowerdn.jpg. the problem is that they are a different resolution ... 320x7200x24 with 30 images while the verizon file is 269x3227x24 with 16 images. i tested the verizon file and it sort of worked but i'm sure it would look better at the att resolution.
  10. zelendel

    zelendel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    just wondering if you want it to boot up faster why not just stop the screen all together? just wondering if there are any benifits to having it as not?
  11. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Brandon, how about a red version to match the Q9M red/black styling?

    And is it possible to change the words from Hello Moto to something else?

    Looking forward to your instructions and efforts. Thanks!
  12. docmac129

    docmac129 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    1
    It sounds like u would need either dafoxs or Manbat's animation expertise if u want to change the wording/graphic in that.
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
  14. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes..ill make a red and black one :)

    As for the words..i can try..but i cant promise anything
  15. I8qbert

    I8qbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good info--always disliked the "default" startup animation.
  16. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good question. I assumed this was like Desktop Windows that loads in the background during the boot screen but this isn't. hmm..
  17. I8qbert

    I8qbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would assume that the boot process looks for an animation file and if it does not find one will just loop. I am not brave enough to try but I,m sure there are some bigger risk takers here
  18. BoostedKnight

    BoostedKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess we're just going to have to find someone to make one for the att resolution then aren't we? I understand what you're saying and will look for those files when I get another minute.
  19. zelendel

    zelendel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed the image to *none* and it just keeps the image that is set in the start up splash screen up a little longer
  20. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I experimented with both start up and splash screen, setting them to none, the fastest I can load up home screen is about 30 secs.

    BTW, you can just place asterisks before and after the path like so:*windows\attpowerup.jpg*, instead of deleting and replacing it with *none*. That way you can return to default by just deleting the asterisks later.

Share This Page