WM6.1 on Q8c only allows "motorola" brand chargers....

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by KillerQ, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    WM6.1 on Q9c only allows "motorola" brand chargers....

    Hey all,

    Has anyone noticed that if a non-Moto charger is used, a message comes up stating that an unauthorized charger is connected? And to add to that, it blocks the charge!

    Odd,

    Matt!
  2. brada55306

    brada55306 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I noticed that, but having 3-4 chargers after having 3 defective Qs, I don't mind.
  3. Rcnathan

    Rcnathan New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    522
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm, I haven't noticed that. I uses an after-market charger just fine. I will have to do some more testing. =)
  4. my 9m does the same thing.
    out with an aftermarket charger with adapter and in came a moto razr charger as backup.
  5. KillerQ

    KillerQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was thinking...

    If the charge-block was ACTUALLY enforced, then Moto could do some mega-damage on charger sales.... Scary thought.

    Matt!
  6. fgullama

    fgullama New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about plugging into a PC?

    Question... Are you still able to charge your phone by plugging into a powered USB port on a computer?

    Frank


  7. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, I did yesterday.
    basically the phone needs at least 500mAh to charge. If the charger can't provide that, it won't charge
  8. Que

    Que New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    It also appears to check for chargers that are putting out more than the 850mA that the Motorola charger puts out.
    I tried a mini USB charger for my Magellan and a Griffin USB wall charger, and got the error message with both.
    I checked and saw that they each put out 1,000mA.

    On the other hand, I have a no-name car charger that I bought on clearance somewhere, and the Q9c did not complain about that one.
  9. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    From time to time I use a sprint branded rechargeable battery charger. it outputs at 100mA and it has worked fine for months, it's possible that the polarity of some chargers may differ
  10. crazykay

    crazykay New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,700
    Likes Received:
    0
    my vehicle charger works fine with 6.1 and I bought it for 10 bucks at some cell phone accessorie store in the mall
  11. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is *NOT* a winmo 6.1 thing--it's beenaround since motorola sold phones. there is a lock out pin--I'll dig up the site later
  12. Bartlett

    Bartlett New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I have not upgraded my Q9c to 6.1 - I always give microsoft some time before I do. However, I have a music power adapter that has 2 USB ports on an adapter that plugs into the wall. I use one port for my zune and was hoping to use the other port for the phone as needed. It does put out 500mAh, but it looks like I will be taking my charger to work. 4/6 USB ports on my laptop work, the other 2 say not enough power to charge.
  13. NeoteriX

    NeoteriX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. tbhausen

    tbhausen New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Sprint-branded 12V/120V dual charger works fine with the 6.1 update.

    Todd/Indy

Share This Page