WM6.1 European/Generic/Unbranded

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by thebluenile, Aug 29, 2008.

  1. thebluenile

    thebluenile New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    WM6.1 European/Generic/Unbranded is finally here!

    Download at http://www.maximus.ws/forum/showthread.php?t=1729

    Thanks to maXimus and Elepfant!

    It does have all the WM6.1 features but compared to the WM6.0 Europe:
    - No Documents to go but Office Mobile
    - No Opera, only IE
    - No McAfee antivirus
    - Network wizard available
    - Windows live available
    - My location with google maps works (and rocks!)
    - Many more languages (16 in total)
    - New task manager
    - Keyboard is set for German with "z" and "y" inverted...easy to change

    Overall I think it's faster and more stable...
  2. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no 6.1 for european users :angry:
  3. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    am I the only one to miss a generic Motorola 6.1 ROM? :foot:
  4. thebluenile

    thebluenile New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    I miss it too buddy but anyone else seems to be happy with the AT&T one and I don't think Motorola is going to release a generic 6.1 ROM...
  5. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I feel a bit fooled, for I spend my money for an unbranded Q9h to configurate automatically for each provider.
  6. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got it via Motorola Update. :laugh2: Seems to be available since today!
  7. k_semler

    k_semler New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you get the unbranded/unlocked Q9h WM6.1 ROM? What is the file name?
  8. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    as I told, I got it via the official Motorola Software Update you will find at the Motorola HP and the files name itself is SHIP_NORMAN_AP_U_01.10.05R_MODEM4_U_40.11.40R_12_USNORMAN25RTDER2W611A002_1FF-Enterprise-German_3801569218.sbf
  9. marmarinou

    marmarinou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    when installed, you can choose the language: Francais, US English, Espanol, Dansk, Nederlands, Norsk, Svenska and Deutsch.
  11. dis100

    dis100 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you upload your ****.xml.msu file from C:\Program Files\Motorola\Software Update\firmwares ? So We can download this EU firmware

    Or anyone has link to full firmware?
  12. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I sent a message to mexiken. Just wait a little bit.
  13. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sry, Mexiken did not answer and I have to leave now for a conference :frown:
  14. thebluenile

    thebluenile New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Dude, how did u get the upgrade, the official website leads nowhere. Can you post the file somewhere?
    thanks
  15. ir77

    ir77 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where do you select the language?

    Is it really WM6.1 with the sliding panels and the likes?

    I would like to buy a 9h in italy, but I must be sure i'll be able to upgrade it to WM6.1 and mantain italian language!

    Do you remember if "MOTO Q9h" was appearing on the "motorola software update" page before sept 10th? (when you still couldn't update it!)

    many thanks
  16. thebluenile

    thebluenile New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. thebluenile

    thebluenile New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    ALL TRUE!
    I have installed and tested. WM6.1, much faster than 6.0, unbranded, unlocked, No Opera, No Documents to Go (Mobile Office instead), several european languages, Network Wizard (works perfectly with O2 UK), Windows live...IT'S like I got a NEW PHONE. Just have to switch the "z" button with the "Y"....URRRAAHHHHH!
  18. theonemanarmy

    theonemanarmy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you actually know how to switch the z and y buttons? i need to do the same. thanks!
  19. thebluenile

    thebluenile New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    This Registry tweak below works fine with WM6.0 but it doesn't work with WM6.1 it always reverts back to German...

    To "correct" the GERMAN flash for English, change the last digit from "7" to "9" in the Value indicated, and restart the phone.
    H_K_L_M\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Layouts\e001ffff

    Change Keyboard Layout Value 0000**** (eg 00000409 for US layout; 00000407 for German layout)
  20. hesaenger

    hesaenger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    back again. What will be about flashing a Q9h with an UK 6.0 ROM and than running the Motorola update? I cannot imagine that this European ROM has only a German Layout:

Share This Page