Wise to put contacts on the storage card?

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by Sgt Jiggy, Sep 9, 2008.

  1. Sgt Jiggy

    Sgt Jiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wise to put contacts on the storage card?

    I pick up my Q 9c tomorrow and was wondering if most here place their contacts on a storage card. I have a bunch due to my line of work. Suggestions please! Should I expect "issues" if I do? I've searched the forum but didn't find a particular post that swung me either way.
  2. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine are on the phone, but backed up with Dashwire.

    And to answer Brandon's question, no, I don't work for them... ;)
  3. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dashwire also, works great. I kept losing my contacts accidentally here and there because I end up switching phones a lot. It got really annoying. So finally started using it and it's quite useful.
  4. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    haha maybe not yet, but all the advertising you do..im suprised they dont send you a check every once on a while :wink:
  5. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, now that's a great idea! I'm used to working for free, though...I work with my husband. Actually, he doubled my salary...$0.00 x 2 is still $0!
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you cant save contacts to the sd card and access them
    you can copy the pim.vol to the SD card or you can save each contact as a vcard on the Q or one of the many many other options to backup contacts
  7. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I keep a copy on my storage card. If the Q takes a dump, it only takes 30sec. and all my contacts and calander info is back.

    however you choose to to it, just back them up somehow.
  8. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I the only one "worried" that Dashwire is keeping a lot of information from peoples phones while giving them no real access to that info on their servers?
    I haven't even seen a way to delete my account and get rid of the stored info.

    But anyway I copied pim.vol to the sd card for my last reset then discovered finschsync(sp?).
    backing up to the sd card is a great option.
  9. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you re-sync with a newly installed dashwire I believe it asks you which contacts you want to keep, the ones currently on the phone or the ones on the server.

    In my case, I've switched between phones with different OS's several times so a pim.vol backup wouldn't quite work for me.
  10. MarciG76

    MarciG76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dashwire

    I am a fan of using Dashwire to back up info. I haven't come across any issues with them.
  11. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    To delete Dashwire data, log in the website. Then select a category from the title bar:

    Photos | Videos | Contacts | Calls | Text Messages | Shared

Share This Page