Windows Mobile 6.1 Update for Sprint Q9c Released

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by Noodlez, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i cant speak for the update
    but since its a PC app i dont see why it would work out

    give it a shot
  2. Fenway

    Fenway New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to find a link to do the update via phone as right now I don't have access to a windows desktop

    can anybody post a direct link?

    thanks
  3. freespeech4thedumb

    freespeech4thedumb New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    6.1 upgrade link

    I have looked (seemingly) everywhere on Motorola's website for the 6.1 update link and can't find it. can someone please post it. I'm new to the smart phone game. just got my q9c about a month ago.

    Thanks!
  4. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's not a direct link to the update.
    go here
    and download the Motorola Software Update program. this will install the update (as well as any future MOL updates that may be released)
  5. cardenas5810

    cardenas5810 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey...i just got a new computer and its a vista windows...i was wonderin if the active sync works with vista??
  6. igotaq

    igotaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need windows mobile device center fo vista.. get it from microsoft
  7. Fenway

    Fenway New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can not find a link that I can download from the phone itself frustrating since I am on the road
  8. RasputinAXP

    RasputinAXP New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't do the 6.1 update from the phone itself, you have to do it from a PC. It's about a 30 minute process with lots of ROM flashing. It's not something the device itself can do.
  9. blondie

    blondie New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Delete Email

    I saw the question posted like 20 pages back, but never saw an answer: How do i delete an email account?

    I have 6.1 and everything was updated, installed and working fine (flawless almost). But all of the sudden my email stopped sending/receiving and i get a lovely non-descript error message. I want to re-install my pop mail account but i can't find a way to delete the current account.
  10. rainmakerrc

    rainmakerrc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the account selection screen, with the particular account highlighted, click on Menu-->Delete.
  11. afiggy

    afiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally upgraded to 6.1

    Thanks to all who posted here. I read through the post so I was prepared for the worst but it went very smooth. Now I start my tweeking.
  12. kemetblk

    kemetblk New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    core player problems

    I upgraded my Q9C to WM 6.1 without much hassle, but now TCPMP will not load. It crashes everytime I try to run it. I tried reinstalling it but no luck. Anyone else have this problem?
  13. billecorgan

    billecorgan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here :(
  14. magicman08

    magicman08 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    0
    get coreplayer....solves all problems plus built in youtube with better quality than vtap

    albeit not free...
  15. sp1974

    sp1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple of things.....

    1st is this upgrade something I will have to do myself and Sprint isnt going to offer?

    2nd for those that have upgraded is it worth it? Everything seen to work ok?
  16. afiggy

    afiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0

    1st:I don't think Sprint will do it but search this thread because others have discussed that issue.

    2nd: It is so worth it! I did not realize how sluggish my phone was before the upgrade since it is at my speed! It boots up quickly, moves from program to program quickly and the sliding home screen is great. I have not tried to use any other themes or home made screens yet but that will be my holiday adventure. Upgrade!!
  17. sp1974

    sp1974 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    one other thing...I connect to internet using pdanet. Is this going to cause any problem downloading the update and installing. Would I be better off bringing my sync software and installing it on my work pc and doing it there (shhhh don't tell me boss)
  18. afiggy

    afiggy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I read on this thread, use the computer!!
  19. dre4

    dre4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    volume control

    it seems like after i upgraded to windows mobile 6.1 the ringtone volume for my calls was cut down, even tho it shows it is at full volume. also the threaded text messages seems to run sluggish now even wit no programs running. anybody else kno of a fix for this or anything.
  20. Que

    Que New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    While I think it's subjective, I do feel the ringtones are not as loud anymore.

    Regarding the sluggishness with texting, you may want to turn off predictive text entry, and clear out your personal text entry library. Although I never had trouble with the predictive text entry when running under 6.0, it has been causing all sorts of sluggishness and lock-ups for me and others as well under 6.1.
    (Search the next page or two for the thread about running sluggish and locking up for more details.

    Regarding TCPMP player no longer working under 6.1 - please do a search, it has been covered earlier in this thread and in two or three others as well. (I believe the link to the version that works can be found in the YouTube thread.)

Share This Page