windows mobile 6.1 port on Q 9m

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by promega, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    and i have a Q9c :}
  2. iguru42

    iguru42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what you're saying is you didn't have the nk.nbf file in the same directory as XP_ROMUpdateUtility.exe when you ran it?

    Didn't you receive:

    ERROR [208]: FILE OPEN

    The Update Utility can not open the requested file. Please check your update utility.
  3. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I did receive a file error message but I think it said 206. either way, the fact that it got that far leaves me believing that the utility was seeing an communicating with my phone.
  4. iguru42

    iguru42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, nope, the app did not communicate with your phone.
  5. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you run it ?
  6. iguru42

    iguru42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it won't find my phone. And I did it the same way crashdau did and it came up with the error I posted about, so the check to communicate to the phone comes after the file check.
  7. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure if you mentioned it, you have a Q9m or Q9c ?
  8. iguru42

    iguru42 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, sorry I did not, I have a Q9m.

    Just to be clear, the update utility does actually talk to the phone in some way because I got prompted from my phone if I wanted to run the RUU app, which obviously the utility transferred there, but then after than it errors out with error 222, if I remember correctly.
  9. jasoraso

    jasoraso Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    WinsorII - did you do the update that is posted here? and on a Verizon Q9c or Q9m?
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe he has a Q9c.. and yea, i asked him the same question 1 post above yours :}
  11. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep...you're right...got the error message number 222.

    oh well....back to the waiting game.
  12. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    so for the sake of this thread & prevent confusion, we may want to delete these posts... what say you ?
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    done and done
  14. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you sir... back on track, where's Chris :}
  15. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    hes hiding.....
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    that or upgrading :}
  17. guavalava93

    guavalava93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    so basically if i get the jist of whats been going on here is that some stuck-up user posted a link to where a Verizon Q (no specific model noted) is supposed to be upgraded to 6.1. The problem is that nobody is willing to risk their mobile device to be the guinea pig of this experiment, correct?
  18. Weapondrift

    Weapondrift New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, but some other users tried to upgrade as well and 6.1 wouldnt work with their phones.
  19. guavalava93

    guavalava93 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    and these were Q 9c, Q 9m, and Q 9h users that have all tried this?
  20. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    iguru42 and myself tried on the Q9M. :embarassed: No go.

Share This Page