windows mobile 6.1 port on Q 9m

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by promega, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. Surfer

    Surfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so but I am sure you can think of something creative that will make them replace it. I highly doubt this port will work for you regardless though.
  2. iROCKnikes123

    iROCKnikes123 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried it and got error 222.
  3. Surfer

    Surfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got that error too when I tried it.
  4. lildman

    lildman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    So basically, if I have the original Verizon Q, the OS that I have I am stuck with for life?
  5. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    most likely: yes... WM6.0 came with the Q9 so they did not release it for the Q1.

    potQ9c
  6. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rudeboy, I'm sitting in Hershey Park, at the boardwalk/water park waiting for kids to exhaust themselves. I'm exhausted from this thread! Please help me clear some things up...Is WM6 THAT much better than 5? I still have "original" black Q. New Every 2 comes in December. HOWEVER, I can upgrade early and get the Q9C (Verizon) now, and it will be free.

    I was going to wait (I still may...) to see what comes out by December, but if WM6 is sooooo much better, maybe I should do it sooner.

    My kids won't let me look at anything "outside the Q family", so please let me know your thoughts.

    Thank you!
  7. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    there are definately some nice things about 6 (HTML email, and bluetooth syncing are just the beginning). it's not that major of a step up, but then anything that may come out in Dec probably won't be that major of an upgrade either.
  8. lildman

    lildman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like we are in the same boat:frown:, my contract is up in Feb..thinking about the iPhone or the new Q 'Napolean'.
  9. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup... "ERROR [222]", the anticipation was nice, the 'climax' disappointing..

    @ sherri: i would do it again for sure... minor but nice changes, and in my opinion the hardware part -keyboard is most prominent- is improved..
  10. lildman

    lildman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    And again forgive me for being a nood to terms like 'flash' and 'cook', but is there no way to take the software from a Q9c with WM6 and put it onto a my original Q black?
  11. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have to agree there. the difference is a little more pronounced with sprint (like alltel) because the Q9c can run some sprint services that the Q1 should have been able to. (like Sprint TV)
  12. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone for the replies...I will be in the Verizon store to get help w/ hubbys BB, so I will check out the Q9C. I may end up waiting, but NE2 will be some type of Q!
  13. Surfer

    Surfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Sherri and offtopic

    I hate peacocks, my neighbor has like 20 and they crap all over my car :embarassed:.
  14. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where do you live? They are not n the wild near me (Long Island, NY).

    Daughter took that picture at the Bronx Zoo 2 years ago!
  15. Surfer

    Surfer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha I live in Orlando, FL. Neighbor owns like a flock of them and they jump on my car and stuff, I was just kidding though haha.
  16. backdown00

    backdown00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would wait it out, the Q9n (napoleon) will be out before the year is over.
  17. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    My thinking NOW, with the almost certain release of the "Napoleone" (prob Sept.) is that Veri$on is sandbagging its Q9c WM 6.1 release 'til well after so that they can get more unit sales if (Napoleone) is released with WM 6.1. Just thinking out loud but there is a certain "Veri$on logic" in it, eh?
  18. crashdau

    crashdau Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are giving them way too much credit!!!
  19. Malvado

    Malvado New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok im new to this but i wanna give it a try....now all i need to know is what do i need to try to get wm 6.1 on my q9c...please post some links as to the software i need to do this
  20. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    welcome aboard....

    Sprint Q9c ?

    has been discussed multiple times...

Share This Page