Windows Mobile 6.1 on a Q9M? Yes, it can be done now!

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by Miata492, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. carz

    carz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think all needed files should be zipped together for 1 easy download instead of making a wild goose chase out of it.

    I realized that i need to set aside 40 hours tonight just to browse through the site to find the files i need, aside from the updating. (yes im making the jump)

    also....what happens if after i load 6.1....something happens...its not working right, and i need to reformat...would I be able to do a quick master reset? would it install q9c? or do i have to go through the whole trouble all over again
  2. Miata492

    Miata492 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am putting up a page right now on some of my webspace to host the 3 main files needed to do this. i am just working out getting the main ROM file on there as it is 52MB and my hosting company doesnt like file that big. as soon as i have it up, i will post the link. the instructions will also be on there for doing the upgrade and i will end up putting my homescreen file on there if anyone is interested.
  3. Miata492

    Miata492 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, i just put a quick site on some webspace i have.
    Go to: http://www.ddashboard.com/
    The 3 needed files are there. Unfortunately, I had to use FileFactory temporarily to host the ROM file because of the size. I will change that ASAP once I can host it myself. For some reason my hosting company wont let me put anything larger than 10MB directly on the page but I will fix that! Directions for the install will follow shortly, but they can be found at the begininng of this thread, etc. Hopefully this helps.
  4. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    They are all there now - just checked to be sure. :smile:
  5. carz

    carz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    the file factory file isnt working...its downloading a 0 byte file
  6. naturedude

    naturedude New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The entire smartappsworld.com site is dead here... Is it just me?

  7. OnlyNismo

    OnlyNismo New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    after upgrade to 6.1 will I still be able to sync up my contacts again via active sync? since it changes my q9m to a q9c, does it affect anything?

    and does anyone know if I will get in trouble for having the 6.1 rom on my q9m? I might have to bring my phone to the store to have them take a look at it cause my vibrate doesn't work anymore.
  8. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    JUST you . . .
  9. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Yes

    No
    :smile:
  10. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    I'll check it right away. Stay over at SAM if you have problems, ok.
  11. OnlyNismo

    OnlyNismo New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0

    so that's a yes I will be able to sync up all my contacts, tasks, and calendar?

    also, after I upgrade to 6.1, if I do a master reset does that bring it back to 6.0?
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you will still be at 6.1 if you do a reset
  13. carz

    carz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the files, waiting for my phone to fully charge so i can do this beast! im getting anxious.


    edit - RSD isnt picking up my device?? Phone is plugged in, I click show device, and nothing happens. help before i start =X

    isnt it supposed to show device information in the left box before you start with reflash?

    edit: connected/disconnected again and now it shows up in the table list

    edit #2, anxiously waiting for 6.1 to install...oh boy oh boy

    edit #3, IT WORKED IM OFFICIALLY 6.1!!!
  14. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    That's GREAT !!! Glad you're up and running !!!!!
  15. cockneyyardie909

    cockneyyardie909 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    i must be missing something

    I have read the thread and others at least 3 times. I finally found scotts apps page and cannot find the ROM file there or anywhere else. Some of the ROM files i downloaded are not in english so I am not sure if they are correct. I've gotta revive my brick. I feel dumb. Sorry but I need some TLC.
    Thanks (Q9M)
  16. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    look in the signature right above your post:wink:
  17. cockneyyardie909

    cockneyyardie909 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow

    This is just incredbile. Check this out Hockey. Went to motomodd site, found file. clicked to download, it sent me download.php. click that to download, NOW i get an error message
    "C:/Windows\Instal~1\{C461F~1\-28501~1.EXE
    The NTVDM CPU has encountered an illegal operation
    CS:1208 IP:0176 OP:ff ff 00 ff 00"

    This is just an incredible ordeal for. Any advice? I appreciate you.
  18. cockneyyardie909

    cockneyyardie909 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks

    Thanks. I've been to smartappsworld. Got a whole different set of problems there. I want to blame myself, but this is really a comedy of errors. I wish you all could be here and see this for yourself. I've even been called inept, incompetent and illerate because of all the problems i am having.:embarassed:
  19. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    if need be i drop Q9c rom on my ftp...
  20. cockneyyardie909

    cockneyyardie909 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rudeboy you are my hero

    Hallelujah I am 6.1. Thanks to Miata, and Hockey for your help along the way not to mention Q-Area51 with SmartAppsWorld . After 24 hours of anguish, it was Rudeboy posting the Rom file at his FTP that saved the day. Thanks all. :thumbup:

Share This Page