Windows Media Center (Vista Ultimate)

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by ninjaap, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Windows Media Center (Vista Ultimate)

    Has anyone used this app before? I have recently discovered it. It's pretty cool. Besides playing dvd's and music, it can connect to msn video through "Internet TV". I'm streaming an episode from the History Channel as I type this. You can also get sports scores from Fox sports, I think. You can also set up a tv tuner and can even program it to record shows.

    Hmmm... looks like Internet TV are clips not full episodes.
  2. Weapondrift

    Weapondrift New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have basic (vista) and also have Windows Media Center. i have yet to figure out its complexities but it sounds pretty cool.
  3. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Nice. You probably can't get the full potential of this app unless you hook up a tv tuner to it. I will most likely look into one since I don't have a tv in my room.
  4. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use it sometimes. I bought a tuner card for my cmputer, and sometimes use it with my 360

    But then I found out Ord is much better, so now I stream live tv to my Q and ipod flawlessly
  5. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Im not too interested in orb as I found that my slingbox streamed videos to my q much better.
  6. kclem0227

    kclem0227 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    driver download

    Hey
    would you know where I could get a driver download for my Q9? I have a new computer with Vista and it times out before it loads so I am unalbe to sync everything from outlook to my phone. Thanks:smile:
  7. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm..whyd you post that here?

    And ya..download windows mobile device center.
  8. Weapondrift

    Weapondrift New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried using Location Free Player (Sony), but I found it was either extremly difficult to hook up or I am stupid...
  9. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    What is that? Does the PS3 have it?
  10. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Does anyone have any recommendations on a usb tv tuner for my vista laptop?
  11. Weapondrift

    Weapondrift New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,739
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location Free player is the same as SlingBox/TV tuner. the only thing is I have to CONSTANTLY be connected online for it to work, meaning if I plugged it into my PS3 the PS3 would have to remain on ALL the time. There is not a wireless hub that connects the LFP to my router so i would have to have a constant cable running through my house that would just get in the way.
  12. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ninjaap, try the Pinnacle usb tuners.
    Cant recall the model numbers, but there is one that will also pull in over the air hi def stations.
  13. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks I will look into that.

    Great suggestion. The specs say they are compatible with Windows Media Center.
  14. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took a look at that Pinnacle tuner as well, and it looks really intruiging. I don't have a TV to use in my apartment (the living room one broke) so I use my monitor for everything I can. But it doesn't support my DTV box. With this it will though.

    They're expensive though.
  15. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I've been reading the reviews on Amazon on these things... not good I'm afraid. Seems the software is where most of the complaints are from. So I'm not so sure.
  16. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    If that's the case, then hopefully there are 3rd party software that can be used.
    I tried one a couple years ago...my ancient Barton processor was choking on the HD feeds, but the SD channels were crisp.
    Really didnt judge the software as I was interested in capturing video and editing with other software.
  17. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't really justify buying one of these things anyway.

Share This Page