Windows Live Search

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by evil247, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. evil247

    evil247 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows Live Search

    There is a new version out that has speech recognition. Haven't played with it to much yet but it seems pretty cool so far. No links because I'm on the Q @ work.
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i just checked my 'live search' and the 'client update available' link under the right soft key isnt lit up?
    did you have to redownload it?
    how did you find out about the update?
  3. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0

    I saw it on msmobiles.com. I dowloaded and installed it this morning. Works great! I sent it to a few other friends with different devices (Q, Dash, PPC6800, Treo). They all had success too.

    Go to: wls.live.com from you phone browser to download it.

    Edit: also here is a link to the article on msmobiles.com : http://msmobiles.com/news.php/6792.html
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    thanks!
    i googled it and sure enough there was the link to get it
    downloaded it and installed it and works great

    i just wish the 'update' function in the program told me that there was one!
  5. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0

    No problem.

    You know what's crazy........ its doesnt combine with the Windows Live function already on the phone. Nor does it overrided the "Live Search" included in the Windows Live installed on the ROM. So iuf you llok at installed programs, you have "Windows Live" and Windows Live Search" installed.
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    what do you mean?

    when i installed it it told me it was uninstalling my previous version
  7. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a previous version of this program that I installed 2 weeks ago. So I assumed thats what it was installing. Check you programs and see what you have installed.
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you mean my remove programs list i have to wait til i can use active sync as i have over 50 programs installed and cant view them

    but if you mean the actual program i installed it opened it up and it has the voice function and the new 'gas' thing....so i know its the new one

    but if you had the old version installed and opened it up...under the right soft key there is something that says 'client update available' and it was greyed out
    i wish that part worked so i wouldnt have to check other sites to see if the program is updated

    unless i am totally missing what you are saying
    (which wouldnt be the first time i have done that here)
  9. KOOLWATER

    KOOLWATER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice...:2cool:

    Gas prices!
  10. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0

    The "Live Search" that is included on the homescreen is not the one you just installed. The "live search" that sincluded on the Homescreen takes you to the mobile live search website. "m.livesearch.com"

    Attached Files:

  11. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    totally dont have a live search homescreen
  12. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0

    I had it installed on my Q when I had it. Do you have it in your "Start menu"?
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    only have the live search shortcut
  14. cheri

    cheri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    11,615
    Likes Received:
    2
    seems to work fine...wierd having both tho...oh well
  15. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    I searched once for the Live Search homescreen plugin, but no luck. I also only have the shortcut.
  16. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have the Sprint Q?
  17. chatmaster20

    chatmaster20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the improvements. Personally, MLS is my favorite application on my Q and any additions are very welcomed here. Like others said, it would be nice if they would notify people when the new version is out.
  18. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    anyone test out the voice recognition?

    i was practically screaming in to the thing and it wasnt registering
    i was trying to get 'restaurants' and it just said 'cant recognize command'
  19. chatmaster20

    chatmaster20 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Voice recognition did not work well for me either. They have a long way to go with that feature.
  20. KOOLWATER

    KOOLWATER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked great for me...

    I used it to find a resturaunt.

Share This Page