Windows 7

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by fr4nk1yn, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7

    If your into the Beta thing you better grab it.
    It went live again about an hour ago and is only supposed to be open to 2.5 million users.

    I grabbed the 64bit version from a direct link last night, it will install without a key but won't activate, been using it since.

    It's NICE. Running on my old computer BETTER than XP!

    It's good until Aug with the keys MS is handing out.
  2. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was running an earlier beta, but I can't get the public one to download

    I have 5 keys if anyone needs one..for 32 bit
  3. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try using one of the direct links thats posted.
    MS uses an Alamai downloader that I couldn't get to work in Firefox.

    I downloaded the 32bitv as well just in case.

    It is more ram heavy than XP. It's using about 200mb more.
    This is what Vista should've been.
  4. Acetherockr

    Acetherockr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah the windows 64 bit won't download for me either :angry:
  5. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    32bit

    64bit

    There's a few things that seem to be surprisingly missing.
    Not in a bad way. I use Thunderbird but was gonna try the "New" Live mail.
    It nor anything Live is here. A good thing as far as I'm concerned but notable.

    The taskbar is new it's taller and seems to be a tweaked vista bar. oh, It's also transparent.
    Running apps show as Icons which do some interesting things, right clicking IE for example brings up the history.
    However there's no distinguishing between a shortcut and an actual running program.
  6. Acetherockr

    Acetherockr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course... I tried downloading it for about fifteen mins and NO LUCK.. Then it hit me! You have to use Internet Explorer :tounge:
  7. bub710

    bub710 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    does that mean that after aug your computer is a brick without a new purchased key?
  8. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty much. But it also means they expect another beta of the final that could be upgraded too.

    I say could cause if I remember right you couldn't upgrade one of the Vistas.
  9. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    They should give it away to all Vista owners as an appology for that OS...
  10. bub710

    bub710 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    well as much as i would like to try it, i suppose i shouldn't b/c i value my computer too much to brick it for a few months of fun. *dissapointed*:embarassed:
  11. Acetherockr

    Acetherockr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah no kidding..
  12. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Remember Windows
    Millennium?

    Thought not.

    This is beta software, that means you don't install intob any computer you need.
  13. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just reinstall vista in august..

    Or dual boot..thats what I did
  14. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I dual boot Windows 7 with Vista and Ubuntu installed? I have two 320gb HDD. One have Vista. The other has Ubuntu. The Ubuntu drive has a ton of space free. Can I install is there and how?
  15. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    any ideas??????
  16. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Give us a moment /=

    I'd find a way to dual boot with the Vista HD.
    IIRC It's harder to resize a Linux partition.
    But be warned it took out something in my Xp system and it won't boot right now.

    I used Gpartition to resize my NTFS partiton and installed.
    The requiremnts for HD is only 16gb so it does'nt take much.
  17. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. u can
  18. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I can probably use Disk management in vista and reformat a piece of that drive to install windows 7?
  19. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah.. I remember ME... *shakes head*
  20. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it needs at the minimum 15gbs

Share This Page