Why My Q Sucks

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by detroitmotoq, Mar 24, 2008.

1. detroitmotoq

detroitmotoq New Member

Why My Q Sucks

I am a veteran smartphone user. Ever since the Treo 600 I have been absolutely fascinated with the potential and functionality of smartphones. I've owned the Treo 600, 650, and 700p, along with a Blackberry 8730c, and currently the owner of a Motorola MOTO Q music 9m.

Each device has specific features that give it an inherent strength above competitors. The scroll wheel for example, was a great step forward for non-touch screen devices.

But never have I come across a smartphone I have ever been so displeased with.

The Q sucks because...
    • using symbols in text is difficult, sometimes the 'Fn' and 'CAPS' buttons seem to stick for no reason, causing unwanted screens and options to interrupt typing
    • no apparent means of "copy and pasting" of text
    • difficult of use of calendar... whose bright idea was it to make the 'D' key the way to turn AM to PM or vice versa?
    • No fixed calendar key... part of smartphone value is functionality, if I have to go through several screens just to glance at the calendar for the week there is a problem
    • Voice Dialing barely works. Sometimes it just closes itself even though it properly identifies the person I want to call. Voice Dial by # is useless.
    • Programs close after 2.5 seconds of inactivity (j/k but only in the sense that I'm exaggerating by about .25 seconds). This becomes irritating when using programs like the calculator and I have to think about the numbers, or the calendar and I have to think about setting timers, etc.
    • Low ease of use
    I mean seriously, all of my previous devices were intuitive, yes, even the arcane Treo 600. I could pick one up and almost instantly know how to navigate and do simple things like edit calendar events and copy text. The Blackberry was a particularly smart-smartphone.

So Motorola take note: