Who's getting Vista?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by qwho, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am probably gonna wait for a few months before I get Vista. It's wise not to jump too quickly for new OSs as they come out. I always wait a few months for some update or a service pack. I remember when Windows 98 came out. It wasn't really good until the SE came out.

    I did see the new touch screen HP at BestBuy. DAMN! I want one of those!! I almost became overly excited when I was playing with it...the computer that is.
  2. qnoob

    qnoob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    always, always, ALWAYS wait for the 1st service pack before diving into a new Windows OS.

    and none of my PC's will be able to handle Vista anyways, so I'll have to wait for a new PC purchase to try it out.
  3. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    My PC can handle every OS except MAC. I've usually got at least 2 distrosbutions of Linux along with my XP Pro. Too bad the Q doesn't play well with Linux.
  4. red_1z

    red_1z New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    i want it, i need the cash first
  5. FourTwenSesh

    FourTwenSesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0

    Mine was free :laugh2:
  6. FourTwenSesh

    FourTwenSesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a torrent junkie. I have vista. Works exactly the same as XP did. So does WinRAR. Its not your client, but possibly your torrents. PM me with your email address and I will invite you to www.revolutiontt.org, the ultimate torrent site. You will not even be able to download it all! Plus the movies that come from this site look awesome on my Q!
  7. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to back pedal a bit. I've gotten Vista Ultimate. I just had to have it.
  8. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Vista Home Premium. The only problem I can see straight off with Vista is Windows Media Player doesn't handle you switching video to video very well. Sometimes I have to close it out with Task Manager and reopen it. Also most software companies have not had enough time to work with Vista before creating compatible updates. Such as Nero. Nero 7 completeley sucked before Vista and it even worse now. Also if you have a DVD RAM Burner on your laptop like mine, Vista only recongnizes it a DVDRW drive. YOU WILL NOT BE ALBE TO BURN DUAL LAYER DVD'S!

    For Bittorents: I use Azureus and I dont have any problems with it working with Vista. I think the 200KB thing is more of a Microsoft issue. They could be blocking it in Vista on purpose.
  9. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know, I have never really used Media Player. I have been a Realplayer user for years. Realplayer is much better with watching porn. :tounge:

    Now, that I have my iPod, I mostly use iTunes when listening to music.
  10. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont know if it is because one file maybe an .avi and the other might be .mkv, but WMP doesnt handle the change well at all. I use VLC player more than anything now for videos
  11. The_Director

    The_Director New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgraded to VISTA Home Premium about a month ago - even though "upgrade" did the clean install route; personal philosophy of "cleaning house" occasionally. Anyway, install was easy, all apps and games work fine (in some cases after applying Vista-recommened fixes), except for a couple issues:
    - Had to upgrade from Roxio 6 to Roxio 7, but I got a good deal so OK.
    - HP PSC1210 printer will not print in legal mode, crops at 11". No fix at MS or HP.
    - Most relevant here, Q will not sync with Windows Mail, Calendar, Tasks. Syncs fine for file transfer, etc. and yes I could use Outlook, but would like to use the native apps. Hard to believe Vista and Mobile development teams at Microsoft don't talk to each other!
  12. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not that...Microsoft wants you to spend the money to upgrade to Outlook. OR, it is possible that one hand doesn't know what the other hand was doing.
  13. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    Curious how everyone is making out with Vista. I'm considering a cheap DELL and they come bundled with Vista or XP. There are two models that I'm considering AMD X2 3600+ or AMD X2 4000+. The latter comes with 1GB of RAM vs 512MB which I think is probably necessary. It comes with the Home version, so looks like I'll have to add $99 for the Business edition to get the AERO effects. I'm doing what I can to make it more like my Mac.:wink:

    One of the main reasons for the PC is so that I can work with my Q (and future Windows Mobile Treos). How has your experience been with Vista and the Q?

    As a Mac guy, the whole process is incredibly confusing. The Dell buying process takes you through what feels like 50 pages of options.

    I won't be using the machine for gaming. Just QuickBooks Pro and program that automates submission of articles on the web. I emailed the developer and hope to hear back from him. I'm running Virtual PC on my Mac and it's unbearable. Plus, ActiveSync doesn't work.

    I've read where most caution about going into a new OS, but I'm curious to check it out. This won't be my primary computer, so I'm not so worried bugs here and there. I figure this will be my first and potentially last PC purchase. I figure I should get Microsoft's latest and greatest. My next Intel Mac will handle PC duties. Until then, I'm thinking this is the cheapest and best option.

    Any suggestions are appreciated.

    -Chris
  14. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    BTW, I'll only be using the PC for software updates. I currently sync my data using my PowerBook w/ Missing Sync for Windows Mobile.

    -Chris
  15. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    It should not be too bad to learn Windows if you are using Mac. The biggest thing is the difference in the basic way things work. You should not have any trouble with hardware, except for those things you have which were specifically made for Mac. It will be fun...but aggravating at first. You switch would be nothing like moving from Windows to Linux.

    You might as well try Vista. A lot of the problems that some people are having are with upgrades from XP to Vista.

    Jump in there! But, it'll be fun.
  16. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    While the Business edition is probably overkill for my needs, I'm a sucker for cool effects and transparency. I figured getting it installed at time of purchase would be easier than upgrading. Plus, I don't see myself going out and paying full price for Vista if I don't get it pre-installed.

    I'm waiting to hear back from the developer, since his software is one of the main reasons for the purchase.

    So, no problems with installing Moto's Q updates using Vista?

    -Chris
  17. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you get a copy Crista (cracked Vista) like I have.

    Sorry. That is the only problem I have had with Vista and the Q. As of NOW, you cannot update Q using Motorola Updater.
  18. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ordered late yesterday. It's already built and shipped. :gasp: I waited until I received confirmation from the software developer that his program was Vista friendly. I didn't want the hassle of upgrading from XP to Vista. This way, I hook it up and no worries.
  19. FourTwenSesh

    FourTwenSesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good call Chris.

    Let me know if you need Croffice 2007 (Cracked office...sorry couldn't resist the name)

    I am also in the process of Betaing the Windows Longhorn x64.
  20. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Microsoft was more concerned with the security of Office than Vista. Its very difficult to find a crack for Office, if there is one. You can get a 60-90 day trial of Office 2007. I used the trial, its sweet but I prefer Office 2003.

    64-bit Windows is a strange animal. Microsoft is so far behind in 64-bit technology that you have to use a 32-bit Internet Explorer for some websites. Linux, like HP, have embraced the 64-bit processors.

Share This Page