Where to copy mp3's for text message alerts??

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by wingnut144, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. wingnut144

    wingnut144 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where to copy mp3's for text message alerts??

    I have a mp3 I've copied to my phone, and put it in the 'my ringtones' folder.

    I'd like to use this tone for text message alerts, but I'm not seeing it in the list.

    Do I need to put the mp3 somewhere else????? If so, where would that be?? :laugh2:

    Thanks
  2. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    best place is in the main folder of your storage card. best if it is a short tone.
  3. wingnut144

    wingnut144 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    There isn't a seperate storage card......
  4. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then leave it in the root directory (no folder). Like dafoxs said, keep it short, because you can not stop a text tone.
  5. slurp812

    slurp812 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    \My Documents\My Ringtones

    remember, this is Windows! use the file manger, and look around. Its not all the unfamiliar in there if you have a windows PC....
  6. wingnut144

    wingnut144 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, in the root of the phone, I have the file structure that is shown in the picture......

    I have a copy of the file in the 'my ringtones' folder.......but it doesn't show up in the list of files.

    Are you saying to put it in the root (Mobile Device) ??

    Attached Files:

  7. beats

    beats Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    go into settings/sounds.scroll down to your alert sound settings.pick your mp3 from the list and click done. :) oh yeah you must already have the mp3 saved to your device's ringtones and or sounds folder in file explorer.
  8. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try the windows file and you should get a storage card
  9. wingnut144

    wingnut144 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was my point, the mp3 isn't showing up in the list when I go to settings/sounds

  10. wingnut144

    wingnut144 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure what you mean by the 'windows file'.

    I'm gonna be getting rid of this phone soon, so I'd rather not get a storage card for a phone I may not have for much longer.... :laugh2:

  11. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    The file named Windows, just like your PC. Also, how large is the file?
  12. t3chn1k4l

    t3chn1k4l Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also drop them in application data\sounds
    that's where I keep mine
  13. GWL

    GWL New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1 on this loaction. Works well and is a logical place to look .
  14. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    once again, How large is the file. If it's to big, it wont matter where you put it.
  15. wingnut144

    wingnut144 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    The file size is 36 KB. Not a huge file
  16. teeterbug

    teeterbug New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dafoxs, I am trying to learn how to use my mp3s for my ringtones on my Q9C. I will look more into this during the day, but am curious. I have seen you indicate file size for the songs. What size is too big? I am unable to add the song as a ringtone, but as mentioned, I'm going to work on this more another day.

    Thanks in advance.
  17. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    300 Kb is the size limit. :) -Q
  18. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the 300 KB limit is only for the Q9h....
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yup only on the Q9h is there a limit
  20. gnath9

    gnath9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with DaFox 100% ... your gonna need one sooner or later. Also I think the phone needs lot of free space in order to run good and be able to download large e-mail files. So... get a card and put everything on it including all apps.

    (just my thoughts on the matter)

Share This Page