When should I update?

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by herofromsomeday, Mar 22, 2007.

  1. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    When should I update?

    I just purchased a new Sprint Moto Q off ebay. Since I assume its gonna have the old software already installed on it, when should I update it? Should I update it right when I take it out of the box and then activate it on my line? Or does it not matter? Thanks.
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i think it might be better to activate the phone first...
  3. qnoob

    qnoob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update the phone only if you are having problems with it. If it works great out of the box, don't mess with it.
  4. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    But doesn't the update fix a lot of things?
  5. qnoob

    qnoob New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, but my take is that, do you see anything wrong so far that needs fixing?
  6. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    DO the update!! Motorola released the update a mere 6 weeks after release, so they must think it's very important.

  7. shadowmite

    shadowmite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    An update is just that, an update. They wouldn't release it if it weren't important. A lot of people have learned to "live" with early bugs. Those bugs are fixed in the update (though I have heard rumor 1 new thing MAY be wrong).
  8. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still have yet to receive my Q in the mail... I should have it by Monday.
    But from what I read from the software-upgrade, why wouldn't I want to update? Everything in the update seems beneficial to me.
  9. g-funkster

    g-funkster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shadowmite, you have a Q?
  10. shadowmite

    shadowmite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Umm, I guess so! :) Good to see ya around.

  11. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    So should I activate the Q on my Sprint line before I update the software?

    I would rather update the phone before I activate it on my Sprint line... because I can't risk not having a phone for the day if I can't get the update to work correctly before I go out of the house.
  12. shadowmite

    shadowmite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated first, then activated.
  13. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you install activesync or any drivers for the Q before updating? Or can it just update by plugging the Q into my computer and running the updating software?
  14. shadowmite

    shadowmite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    you'll have to have activesync installed to do it
  15. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any suggestions to making the update as smooth as possible?


    The reason why I am asking all these questions publically is so if anytime in the future anyone else is wondering the same things, they can read it here.
  16. shadowmite

    shadowmite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty much download the update, run it, it'll start and put the phone in bootloader mode at which point the update MAY or MAYNOT resume, provided it doesn't you'll get a message about restarting the update. If that happens, pull the battery and re-start it. It'll go back into bootloader and resume. Along the update it'll seem to stop a few times, DON'T get worried, just WALK AWAY and leave it be for a good 30 min or so. Once done it'll tell you it's complete...
  17. westonea

    westonea New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only recommendation I would have is to make sure you plug your Q into your computer directly and not into a USB hub. My hub reset on my update, and killed the update.
  18. herofromsomeday

    herofromsomeday New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my Q in the mail yesterday. I updated the software before I activated it, and the update process went smoothly. So far I have liked the Q. If there is one thing I don't like it would be that the update didn't change the DDTM to "off" automatically... so I had to go through the menus to change that. But I don't see myself soft-reseting it much, so I don't see it as too much of a problem (just yet probably).
  19. kobutah

    kobutah New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would update before you get a lot of things installed and configured on the phone, since the update will put you phone back to factory defaults and erases any data on the main memory.

    Motorola and Sprint just released a new update yesterday. Enjoy.
  20. shadowmite

    shadowmite New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    There was another update? Or your just findout out about the update from awhile ago?

Share This Page