When first plugged in...

Discussion in 'Windows PC and Moto Q' started by terrapin669, Nov 18, 2008.

  1. terrapin669

    terrapin669 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    When first plugged in...

    my Vista PC opens to this folder:

    computer>c>windows>system32

    The device manager starts fine but I have never seen this pop up folder/location displayed - happens when I disconnect to. Is this normal?
  2. terrapin669

    terrapin669 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0

    Let me clarify, when I plug my device into my Vista PC, the box that pops up on the PC is C:\Windows\system32...It lists thousands of system files. I can just close it but why is it coming up in the 1st place?
  3. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know. This is popping up before you choose explore to look at the phone's contents?
  4. terrapin669

    terrapin669 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    it just comes up - I dont do anything but plug the device in
  5. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never had this happen. Try opening WM Device Center, then plug the cord into the phone and then the other end into your computer's USB port. Does it still happen?
  6. terrapin669

    terrapin669 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0

    yep it does
  7. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I got nothin. Sorry. :frown:
  8. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    That's weird that you mentioned that. When I sync with my Vista laptop, my PC's WMP starts up then closes after a few seconds, every time. I think it started when I updated to 6.1. Must be a bug. My guess is since I sync my songs through WMP, it's trying to connect or search for WMP. But I have no clue why it would open your system32 folder.

    Maybe try deleting partnership and reestablish a new one?
  9. terrapin669

    terrapin669 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah - I tried that
  10. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you get this fixed?
    You have a corrupted shortcut file probably in the registry or you need to clean your windows temp files b/c sometimes the OS gets locked into doing what the "temp" file tells it to do. But you should do both, won't hurt OS at all.
    Download & install a OS & reg cleaner. A good free donationware is -> http://www.ccleaner.com
    (Used to be called "crap cleaner")
    Don't be afraid to use it. Been using it for years & it's never done any damage.
    Let us know how you are getting along with this.
  11. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was about to post that.
    Something in the "autorun" is opening that folder instead of showing Device Manger(?).
  12. sitlet

    sitlet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump

    just curious, did you ever find a solution to this? i rarely connect my q9c to my pc except to transfer files and music. i just hooked it up today and it's doing this same exact thing.

Share This Page