Warning Trojans!!

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by shrekfx, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Warning Trojans!!

    Heads up. I just got done reformatting my PC due to a trojan that I got today. Have no idea where it came from but It was when I was downloading software for my Q and images for signitures and whatnot. (not from porn) :p... Just a heads up though, nasty little thing. The name of the Trojan is Trojan.zlob.g. From what some of the data bases are saying, it was detected like back in 2005 or something like that, but none of my antivirus, spyware, or anything would find it. It started to redirect me to a site to download a anti-spyware program, then started to crash my browsers, then it crashed everything.. Looks like lately lots of people are getting this from what i found when trying to find away to get rid of it. Just a FYI.
  2. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats an old one. I have it and cant kill it. It is usualy gotten from one of the pop ups. when you try to close the pop up, it installs. it gets into Dos, disables the task manager. the actual purpuse of it is to get you to submit your credit card. the program they want you to buy doesnt work. it used to be called Antispywarepro. something like that.
  3. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup I think you're right, thats the program.. Well my computer needed its 6 month overhall :)
  4. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dell and they dont give you a disk and i aint paying for one.
  5. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    While we are asking. How can you get rid of it with out a disk or atleast enable the task manager again?
  6. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're best best if you dont have a disc is boot up into safe mode and hope you can find a program that can detect it and kill it.. http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2005-121311-5012-99

    This tells you how its sapose to be taken off, but i cant get any of my anti-virus programs to find it nor fine the stupid registry folders, but more pc gurus might beable to help more then I can... When in doubt, Clean it out is my moto on my computer. :)
  7. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, i tried all that. didnt find the registry or and of the dos stuff.
  8. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what to tell ya on that one... Wish I know where i got it from cuz then i'd never go to that site ever again... I'd try and see if you can find someone with a windows disc and use theirs and just use your key on your computer.
  9. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    It probably wasnt a site, put one of those adds that have a "close" button. Always click the X to close them.
  10. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know what.. I think I know what you're talking about.. Cuz i specifcly remember doing that too...
  11. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    And the box went black and it looked like a DOS program ran.
  12. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    that didnt happen to me.. i just remember a pop up, then for some reason i hit close not the x and then all that bad stuff started to happen.
  13. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    that was it.
  14. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought a Dell, and one of the reasons I did is because the offer back up discs, unlike gateway. Gateway reinstall is from the pc itself. In fact, the first thing that they tell you to do is to make backup discs,


    The computer company that services our office pc's told us not to click on the "x" in pop-ups. They said to use the tsk manager to kill them...
  15. paramedicnate

    paramedicnate New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Buy an Apple. :)

    -Nate
  16. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0

    Probly the best thing to do.
  17. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a dell, and to reformat hit f8 when at the dell boot screen.

    and hit "restore to factory settings"

    :)
  18. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same as on Richard's laptop (Gateway) and my home computer (E-machines.....which is now owned by Gateway...)
  19. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm going to try that later. I was waiting on that.
  20. shrekfx

    shrekfx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats a thought.. I just found out last night, i reformatted the wrong hard drive. LOL. not my 120gig is my main and my 300 gig is my back up.. DOH!!!

Share This Page