VZW 6.1 Follow-Up - WM6.1 available.

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by Brent372, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    there's no message sent screen in 6.1, most likely since that would suck and/or interfere in threaded texting...
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    no there isnt
    BUT if you use XT (which i do) there is:laugh2:
  3. Miata492

    Miata492 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    i googled and found this last night after your post - cool little program and freeware too! this works great for me as i use youmail and get a text when i get a voicemail so i can quickly see who left the vm. thanks for the tip!
  4. smyle023-bb@yahoo.com

    smyle023-bb@yahoo.com New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Contacts

    Do I have to reload all my contacts when I upg to 6.1? I ask because I have 100+ contacts and it will take forever to manually enter all this information.

    Does anyone notice improved battery life after upgrading?

    I'm excited!
  5. ScottQ9c

    ScottQ9c New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you have to reload contacts. Third party apps will also have to be reloaded. Everything on the phone, including your custom settings will get wiped out.

    I haven't had enough time with 6.1 to comment on improved battery life, but others are saying the improvement is significant.
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    back up back up back up!!!
  7. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    All my contacts.....

    ==========================================

    All my contacts.....are synced with Outlook on my computer.....all went back with first sync after upgrade. I have Proto Contact Pro 5 and all images associated with the contacts automatically re-associated from SD Card. Most programs installed on SD Card....just clicked on .exe file in programs...Nearly all re-installed that way. Just had to re-create some shortcuts to Start Menu. The ones that didn't ....I just re-installed from CABs I had saved on Card!! Battery life seems to be better....I think it manages programs better. My bluetooth GPS receiver connect very quickly now...used to take a while. Lots more Good things also.
  8. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea pie is better than I thought it would be. I might get away without opera mini but time will tell. I think i'll reload skyfire so I can watch youtube occasionally.
  9. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    That's exactly what I did. Works great this way.
  10. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    YUP !!! Up and running for a month now and bat life is noticeably better.:gasp:
  11. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    You're right unless you defeat/hack threaded txt - you get it then.
  12. waahiven

    waahiven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is the update right? not the monster? sorry I'm a noob I know lol
  13. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    ================================Notice download address....motorola.com.....not a monster.
  14. waahiven

    waahiven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry I'm again a newb, thanks for clarifying! is there a simple explanation to their differences? or simply what a Monster file is?
  15. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    that is not the update to 6.1!!

    -Sent from my Q9c
  16. waahiven

    waahiven New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand that isn't the 6.1 alltel update. I'm looking for the Alltel Q9c monster file.
  17. mbrevard

    mbrevard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wanted to say thanks for the tutorial. I could not get the "official" update to work but yours worked great. Thanks again.
  18. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    THAT'S GREAT - and you are so welcome - Thanks for the Kudos. :laugh2:
  19. mbrevard

    mbrevard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alrighty small question. I have done this before but can not remember. My apps are saved on the card and I can access them there but how do I make them available again from the start screen?
  20. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    ==================================Create new shortcuts to .exe in start menu will work on some.....some will have to be re-installed because even though they are install to the card....some components are installed to the phone and will need to be put back. Posted via Q9m/c WM6.1 Hybrid

Share This Page