Vista drivers?

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by idrift, Jan 10, 2009.

  1. idrift

    idrift New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vista drivers?

    I received a hand down 9m from my brother but he doesn't have the
    drivers disk anymore. I cannot sync this thing with my vista pc
    at all. It will sync my trusty ol Q but not this 9M. Does anyone
    know what I need to make this thing work?

    Thanks.
  2. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    so your saying you have wmdc installed on your vista pc but it wont connect?
  3. idrift

    idrift New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. It works fine with my old moto Q with windows 5.0 but this new
    motoq9m tells me it needs drivers installed from a disk.... I get an error
    on the usb side also saying problem with device. I tried a driver for usb
    and vista x64 but it tells me that I already have a more current version
    istalled and stops. I have no Idea....
  4. idrift

    idrift New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well it's looks like game over. I used a different usb port and the drivers
    installed successfully this time and it will hook up. Even works on BT
    connection. Guess I should have tried that again first before posting
    like a dork. Thanks.
  5. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have the same problem. My old original Black Q (soft rubbery feeling) doesn't do anything when I connect it and I DO have WMDC on my Vista machine....what can I do?!?!?!
  6. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im gussing you tried a different usb port?..
  7. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    tried it..... nothing happened.
  8. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens?
  9. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to try and uninstall WMDC
  10. idrift

    idrift New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    No dont try that, instead I found that vista has an issue if you have more than one
    phone you are syncing. Go to connection options, it will take a sec because your
    phone is not going to connect, then change to a different com port you are not
    using. I changed mine then it worked fine.
  11. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    did all that before.... nothinng .... btw, only one phone
  12. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok Sherrie.....thank you anyway


    I reinstalled it.... and yes it opens but nothing happens after that.
  13. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, Christopher. I went to eat dinner. I assume you tried a different usb port? Cable? I only have Windows XP Pro.

    Where is everyone using Vista??? Scott???RB???(I'm sure you haven't forgotten...it hasn't been that long!)
  14. bounce

    bounce New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have vista ultimate on my work laptop all I did was plug in the phone and it connected just fine. I dont know if anything will download, but when I plug it in all of the syncing features come up on the computer.
    Here is kinda an off basis question, is anybody using the cradles that you can buy from here and how do they like them?
  15. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    No cradle here....just using straight cable. I plug in the phone and <short pause> nothing!
  16. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vista has the Sync Center, a generic synchronization program that works with many devices. WMDC allows for further synchronization and augments the Sync Center.

    As cradles go, I made my own and a generic short miniUSB cable to connect.
  17. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    and my phone is still not connecting...... isn't there any whiz's out there that can help me?!?!?!
  18. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine sometimes doesn't connect the first or second time. Sometimes it takes multiple tries for the phone to finally sync with the computer.
  19. christophersprks

    christophersprks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0

    going on a week of multiple tries...............
  20. WVOz1970

    WVOz1970 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried a different cable? My GPS would sporadically connect or not connect with Vista. It ended up being a loose connection inside the USB plug.

    I think the Q uses a standard pin out on it's cable, but I've never used any other cable than the Moto cable. If you are using a generic cable, I guess it could be possible that it isn't connecting properly.

    Just a couple thoughts...

Share This Page