Verizon Q9c GPS Hack

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by jmorisey, May 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Baylen

    Baylen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well im new to everythingq as well as to smart phones.. so im sure ill mess things up a few times. But I am interested in this.. I have windows live installed and when i set to com 9 it connects to sats and then tries for along time to find my pos then finnally says i must have a clear view of the sky... com 9 is the only com port this works on. I am also useing verizon just fyi..


    addition I just tried it again.. now im getting connection to the gps or something like that.. i keep forgetting.. need to write it down b4 i come in.. was lost would you like to reconnect. after it searches for my position for a min or 2 after finding the sats.

    off subject...

    Also im looking for a good version of WM 6.1 if anyone knows of one.. and a link to nifty idiots guide to flashing it on would be grand too until i get to know more about this stuff.. I looked on xda-developers but im not sure which one is right for the moto 9c.. Thank you again you guys seem to be knocking this one out.
  2. winstonsawyer

    winstonsawyer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Access the GPS in the phone on a PC App?

    Thanks to all who are working on this "verizon" issue. I do have a quick question though. If, rather when you guys figure out how to enable the GPS, will that enable a PC to use the GPS on the Q to run PC applications that utilize other external GPS inputs?

    Thanks again for your work.
  3. Anthony.Selby

    Anthony.Selby New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    so can anyone post the windows directory for a sprint q with windows mobile 6
  4. Anthony.Selby

    Anthony.Selby New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    or how to open those raw files
  5. khaivu

    khaivu New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was Googling "Verizon 9c GPS" and found the following. WMExperts forum have a blurb about a conversation between a Q9c owner and Motorola. Bottom line is VZN is the only product Verizon allow to access GPS:

    link
  6. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may be the only product that Verizon "ALLOWS" but it surely isn't the only product that "CAN". Of course it will take a little bit of work though...

    Jon
  7. GotGTI?

    GotGTI? New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone export and upload thier unmodified

    \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\Active\42
    and
    \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Drivers\Active\83

    keys/folders and all contents?
    would be greatly appreciated

    also i seem to be missing the 29, 30, 38, 39 and, 67, keys as well. (not sure these are needed however..)
  8. xbbdc

    xbbdc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i exported the whole active folder, just rename the .zip to .reg (its not zipped)

    Attached Files:

  9. GotGTI?

    GotGTI? New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, much appreciated!

    My next question is does anyone have or know of a way to export the VZNav libraries?
  10. Anthony.Selby

    Anthony.Selby New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0

    So did the Registry thing help at all ?????
  11. GotGTI?

    GotGTI? New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's just a part of a big process for me as i am trying to make this work on my Q9m. I need to get ahold of the libraries..
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i didnt think the Q9m had internal GPS at all...other than E911?
  13. GotGTI?

    GotGTI? New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    i really could be wrong but as far as i know it does have aGPS
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i could be wrong as well...but i didnt think so
    perhaps someone else can verify...i would hate for you to do all this work for nothing

    does vz nav work on the 9m?

    -Sent from my Q9c
  15. xbbdc

    xbbdc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yea im aware what the thread is regarding...doesnt stop someone who has a different Q to attempt to get it to work as well
    if it truly has GPS like the Q9c then it should/might be similar to get them both to work
  17. xbbdc

    xbbdc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    true indeed. just wanting to know if anyone had an update on the q9c :)
  18. m771401

    m771401 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another recent 9Qc user patiently waiting for an unlocked GPS. After 8 years with Verizon I'm seriously considering switching to Sprint. I hope the smart guys working on this can prevent that from happening... :wink:
  19. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    and you think Verizon is stressing out about you leaving ? :}
  20. m771401

    m771401 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not for one nanosecond. :frown:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page