VCF file to Windows Vista?

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by Benny, May 29, 2008.

  1. Benny

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    VCF file to Windows Vista?

    ok so the phone saves the contacts as VCF files and Windows Contacts can import VCF files... how can i find the VCF files on my Q9m to import them to Windows Contact?
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    the phne saves contacts in a file called pim.vol...and cant be read by anything but the phone

    -Sent from my Q
  3. Benny

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0


    I was able to find some .VCF files in a folder called TEMP but it only had 245 out of my 367 contacts, how did they get there?
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i dont think those are contacts...did you attempt to load it on the pc?

    -Sent from my Q
  5. Benny

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0


    Yup, i was not able to view the temp folder using windows mobile or windows contatcs so i made a new folder in my memory card and i called it "test" from there i copied all the VCF files in the temp folder and placed them in the test folder on the memory card, then i ran Windows Contacts and i was able to import the contacts. it is a slow process cause you cannot select all, must be done one at a time.
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    interesting....but not all were there?

    -Sent from my Q
  7. Benny

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0

    nope just the 245
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    did you try to import any to the device?

    -Sent from my Q
  9. Benny

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0

    i was able to import them to windows contact, for some reason the device does not show up on export
  10. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    what about just export to desktop and copy to device?

    -Sent from my Q
  11. Benny

    Benny New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0


    yes that worked, it was saved in my documents on the phone and then when i clicked on it it asked me if i want to save that contact to the phone, i clicked yes and it was in my contatcs
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    this is good to know....
    (atleast for the Q9 owners)

Share This Page