Use saga as a controller for your tv?

Discussion in 'Samsung Saga' started by dragonfly, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use saga as a controller for your tv?

    I've seen a few apps out there tried a couple havent got any of them to run properly but i've seen apps where you can control your tv from your pocket pc does anyone know of any apps like this that will run on the saga?

    Thanks.
  2. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the Saga have infra red? I know the original Q (WM5) does...
  3. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe it does.
  4. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, I heard it all. Guess you can call someone and have change the volume for you.:))
  5. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    pretty sure the saga is IR free...but ive been wrong plenty! =)
  6. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    wheres bob, lars or jon? =)

    pretty sure the beam thing amounts to bluetooth.
  8. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    the beam option in the connections menu does not necissarily mean that IR is there. The touch Pro has no IR, but the beam option is there in the menus no less
  9. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob has been in meetings all day. Congressmen are needy and they really don't like to keep to agendas.

    If the Saga has IR, I don't know about it.
  10. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you lose your TV remote control? <G>
  11. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Damn, take a short break and look what happens...

    SAGA does NOT have IR. I have found that the BEAM setting is in essence for the Bluetooth on our phones.
  12. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh yeah! thanks bob/jon! i think i left out meto too in my question to the saga pioneers...and maybe a few more. =)
  13. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Off-topic...

    When you get your SAGA frogger?
  14. dragonfly

    dragonfly New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks for the info guys guess the website i was looking at was wrong my bad.
  15. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    should be mailing out today...i bought maniac's. or i guess i should say uncle sam hooked me up! probably will sell my 9c to help out also...
  16. SDNick484

    SDNick484 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using a PDA or smartphone as a remote always seems more like a novelty then anything practical to me. While it's cool in theory it's by no means practical (short battery life, tied to a person, missing hardware-specific buttons, etc.). I will admit I didn't understand the point of those pricey Harmony remotes either until I got one, sone maybe I'm wrong...
  17. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    it did come in handy when I had my old iPaq. although it was a bit much of a hassle to use at home. I mostly used it in bars and restaurants (and to mess with people in the malls)
  18. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL...You folks appear to have far more time on your hands than I do <G>.
  19. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can still control the tv with the Saga. Just throw it at the volume button.

Share This Page