Upgrading to Windows Mobile 6

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by Nick Danger, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    any idea of threaded SMS will be in WM6 since the third party programs are no longer viable?
  2. imagness

    imagness New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. Do you happen to know when they are releasing WM6 for the Q?
  3. qwho

    qwho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. happilyeverafter

    happilyeverafter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. gmardre

    gmardre New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not going to happen people. Remember the MOL updates. Multiply that experience by 10. So, if everyone upgrades, then no phones work, we all take them back to VZW, and they give, mind you GIVE us a new phone. Doesn't seem likely. I'd get over it.
  6. mhhd

    mhhd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. gold_tramp

    gold_tramp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    That photo shows a new version of the Motorola Q. Look at the lower left of the phone. The mic pickup on a Q (current) is located at the bottom left of the phone. In the photo, the mic is located next to the most lower left button. Close, but a new front case design means new phone.
  8. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    no it doesn't. prototypes often don't match the final product. Doesn't mean it's a new phone. And with the Q9 coming out, why would they make a new Q? The Sprint Q has a case made from different material than the other Q, so does that mean it's a new phone too?

  9. gold_tramp

    gold_tramp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    dbpaddler,
    I should have said "I believe it is a new phone", rather than making a definitive statement. I think that by moving the location of the mic, and maybe other internal componets (?), they are demonstrating a new phone. If it was just a different color or different material, I would agree that no significant changes were made. Just my opinion.

    gold_tramp
  10. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    actually...I'll apologize because it does technically seem like a new phone to some degree, though it doesn't really seem to make sense as a new release. But back in February they announced the Q gsm along with the Q9. Here's the article: http://www.windowsfordevices.com/news/NS9254715999.html
    [​IMG]
  11. ximpostrxx

    ximpostrxx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    well on the Yahoo Go! 2.0 DL Page they show a Silver Q which they call the motorola q and they show a black Q caled the Motorola Q PRO... look
    http://mobile.yahoo.com/go/phones?os=wm
    scroll down until you see the silver Q n the Q PRO is next to it... wen i saw it i said wtf, and dismissed it but mayb i should look into it...
  12. dbpaddler

    dbpaddler New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    well considering the mic pickup is still in the same spot as the current Q and not the new Q GSM, I can't imagine it's going to be some new CDMA version when they don't even have the Q9 listed as coming soon and that's actually been announced. but who knows at this point.

  13. rewen

    rewen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So... Windows Mobile 6 is available for download on bittorrent networks. I see it's been customized to work on certain models. I have it sitting here on a folder on my PC but I'm not sure I want to jump at installing it since I don't want to go about setting everything up again.

    But basically what I'm saying is that regardless of whether it's offered, we can have it. It might work just fine from the files available to download, or, it may need to have some edits to work with the Q properly. Who knows.

    Someone must be willing to try it. Anyone wanna test? Anyone experienced enough to mess around?
  14. gmardre

    gmardre New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. damnyooneek

    damnyooneek New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page