Unread Msg Alert location?

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by freemouse, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unread Msg Alert location?

    I want to have the Q alert me when I have an unread msg, but I cannot stand the sound it makes by default. Is there an HKEY setting someplace I can change it? Thanks! -Kim
  2. troutseth

    troutseth Guest

    hmm . . I would think you could either change the system sound or the text sound in the profile. But that is interesting because I am not sure if that would cover it or not.

    Settings-->Profiles-->right click edit
  3. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked everywhere but nowhere does it give me a choice of sound, only the choice of ON or OFF. Thanks for the reply though!
  4. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    Sorry i sent you to the wrong place . . .Settings-->sounds

    You can change text and system sounds in there . . .hope it works
  5. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean in the registry? Or somewhere in the general Q settings? I swear I thought I had checked everyplace possible on the Q.
  6. troutseth

    troutseth Guest

    just in the good ol' settings. You can assign the ringtone to each type of alert. I suggest trying to change the system sounds but I am not sure which one the Unread message uses. It may end up being in the registry but I would give this a try first.

    Have fun!
  7. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea... it can be done, read here..

    what the heck, you were the one asking the same thing in that topic :}
  8. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    I am an enabler :frown:
  9. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    that didnt work, i cannot change the unread msg alert. it must be in rom?
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    say what ?

    well.. hey, if that is what you think why ask again :} i think it can be done... and i will try uhm... now :}

    here is what i did, using Resco Explorer i changed the read only attribute, then i renamed the file UnreadMsgAlert.wav to UnreadMsgAlert_org.wav, then using Windows on the pc i copied a file i renamed UnreadMsgAlert.wav to the Windows directory.

    and yep, that worked....
  11. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    I enabled the cross post by replying. I feel terrible. :wink:
  12. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    sure you do cross-dresser.. uhm, cross-poster i mean :}
  13. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    no no . . I enabled I didn't cross dress err post myself. At least not in years!
  14. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    rudeboy i have resco how do i change the read only attribute?
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    highlight the file > Action > Properties & scroll down a bit, and tada.. uncheck Read Only :}
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    whahahah... not since you had "the" operation :}
  17. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    Minor procedure
  18. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    will do rudeboy, but please give me the sring that alert is in. danka
  19. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    what string are you talking about ?
  20. freemouse

    freemouse New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    the change is made somewhere in the registry right?

Share This Page