Trouble Downloading - Resume

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by PVPD106, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. PVPD106

    PVPD106 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trouble Downloading - Resume

    I have been trying to download the Yahoo Go .cab file from the Yahoo site. The download starts, then stops. I have to press resume, which resumes the download for a few seconds, then it stops and I have to press resume again, and again, and again, until the file finally is downloaded. Once the file is completely downloaded it says that is unable to install.
    My question, is it common to have to continually have to press the resume button to download a file, or should it download the complete file once it starts. I have found the Yahoo Go file on another webpage and downloaded it to my computer and the transferred it to my phone and installed it without problems. So whats the deal trying to download directly to my phone.

    I am using the Moto Q 9h with AT&T service.

    Thanks in advance for any help.
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i have never seen this before
    perhaps it was problem with yahoos site/server
  3. PVPD106

    PVPD106 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe that is it. It could be a problem on there end. I haven't yet tried to download any other files directly with my phone. I just got it a few weeks ago, and still trying to figure it out. I may try something else and see how it works.
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yea try something else out i think its just yahoo being a pain in the ass
  5. PVPD106

    PVPD106 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Must by Yahoo. I just downloaded the "All Mobile Mines" game from the free downoad on this site. I used the text message feature and sent the link to my phone, then saved it. The download went all the way through and installed perfectly. Thanks for your help and speedy reply.
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    good deal
    glad i was able to help!:laugh2:
  7. ehauser

    ehauser New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem. It is definitely a much slower process on Edge versus 3G, but still the same problem. You will have to resume several times, then when the file does download, it won't install.

    I have had this happen on two sites:

    m.bluefishwireless.com - Free QPAK for Moto@

    wap2.cingularextras.com - Paid Game Download from AT&T

    MAY BE A PROBLEM WITH AT&T? I TRIED TO GET A REFUND FOR THE GAME, BUT THEY WON'T GIVE IT TO ME.

    Will someone try and download it for me if I give them the link? Maybe then I could download it to my PC and upload to my phone that way.
  8. mmv

    mmv New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have mcafee running on your phone by any chance?

    I was also having issues with downloading the free q pak from att.... but disabling scanning in mcafee fixed it for me.
  9. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I agree. I had the same problem when downloading yahoo go. I too found mcafee to be the culprit. disable it or don't install it.
  10. ehauser

    ehauser New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was the problem... I disabled real-time scanning and the files downloaded! Thanks guys for your help!
  11. mcaram16

    mcaram16 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    i only have that problem when i use Opera mini.....i never have that problem with IE
  12. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yah, that's true. But I have problems with IE. It's soooo slow and freezes up my phone (Q9h).
  13. NastyGash

    NastyGash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've experienced this same problem when I attempt to redownload a .cab file for example. I found that if I delete the file then try again, it works without problems.

Share This Page