Today Plus Plugin

Discussion in 'Samsung Saga' started by skyhigh, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. skyhigh

    skyhigh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today Plus Plugin

    I've been slowly configuring my Today screen so it fits what I need. I'm using the Today Plus plugin that comes with the Saga but I'm getting tired of the icons taking up valuable space. Is there anyway to change these icons or has anyone found a better plugin that gives access to the most used programs, etc. I like the tabs of this plugin but it needs more configuation available.

    What's everyone using on their Saga's?

    Also, I tried installing the SPB PocketPlus app and I got an error. (error in "gwes.exe" I think) anyone else?
  2. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Today Plus and like it. You can change those programs that you have there and can have more than what fits on the screen. You can also change the programs that appear "pinned" in the start menu and can use that as a method for getting quickly to oft used programs.
  3. SDNick484

    SDNick484 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    To reclaim the space, I'm running RealVGA (see that thread for links); I have the following plugins and can see all of them using the 96DPI setting:
    Clock
    TodayScreenNotificationPlugin (TSNP)
    Today Plus
    Calendar
    (& Wireless Sync)

    I usually rely on the TSNP for notifications, and leave Today Plus on settings.
  4. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is and/or where to get TSNP?
  5. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    does touchflo 3d work on the saga?

    i know im gonna try s2u2 (slide 2 unlock 2)

    also ive seen wmvista beta (freeware) beta
    throttle launcher
    maybe the gsmart touch (but its gren by default and dont know if it can be changed)
    splash screen randomizer looks intriguing
    FEWidgets (omnia style)
    windowsvista II theme
    mortbuttons

    just a few ive seen


    none of these are guaranteed to work as i dont have my phone yet to test them but they do look good
  6. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    would either of you mind posting a how to on getting today plus setup?
  7. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    How down on it with the mouse and you'll get a pop up.
  8. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    this is my today using throttle launcher so far
    trying to get the weather plug in working, and figure out why the background is opaque
  9. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay the fix for the opaqueness is
    not selecting an image as background through the >settings>today screen
    going to the pic from file explorer
    and checking >use image as background >
    >set as background brings up the transparency setting which was at 65%
    and is now 0 and looking sweet.

    [​IMG]

    and the upcoming appointments box is touch sensitive
    using a finger swipe give you access to a media player, app launcher, and of course upcoming appointments that is in its default settings
    and also a menu that looks like this so far
    [​IMG]
  10. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    HOLY CRAP! What screen is that? I've never seen anything like that on my Saga. Where on earth do you / did you find that?
  11. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok...so I installed TL and the touchflow3d theme and the widgets cab. can't use my desktop right now so can't get license file yet.

    got it selected in today and it comes up. can't figure out how where to set weather location as madrid doesn't really help me (g).

    trying to figure if I even like this...sure is a memory pig
  14. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very very very NICE meto!!
  15. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree but I can't even come close to replicating it. I've got options that are off the screen and I can only see their top, I've got things that are lost in configuration (where do you configure what mail accounts to show, weather, etc). Scroll bars within scroll bars, etc.

    Very!!!! confusing app
  16. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, you should see my thread over in their forums
    there's no definite how to or anything
    the screen im using is actually the one in the youtube video (wm7 ultimate) with a grey background as opposed to the grass
    i didnt even install the touchflo3d or the widgets.cab ( haven't figured out what they're used for yet)
    used the realvga fix that SDNick484 found to get everything to display properly

    to change weather and other things go into programs-throttle config-hit the config button- click weather and fill in the info
    may have to put a space in front of the state so that you have something like this
    Augusta, Ga

    as for the mail its linked to whatever you have setup on your phone
    on my screenshot under the weather u see three icons representing
    missed calls
    text messages
    and messaging in that order
  17. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will try the wm7 one. what is real vga? didnt even see a weather config tab. short posting via phone...desktop is down for the count ...something crawlwd in it because they won't use decent virus protection...sophos blows
  18. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    also to activate throttle launcher go into your today screen settings
    go to items
    uncheck everything except throttle launcher
    hit ok
    the throttle config will open
    IF THERE IS NOTHING IN THE PREVIEW BOX YOU DONT HAVE ANY THEME INSTALLED

    inside of your throttle launcher program folder make sure you have a folder called Setups
    if not make one
    unzip the theme file in there so that you have wm7ultimate folder inside of the Setups folder

    they have some that install as cabs
    i havent used those yet

    they also have some that come as .tsk files
    i couldnt figure out what to do with those though
  20. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i get home tonight or tomorrow? ill write up a comprehensive how to if anyone needs it

Share This Page