Thinking about moving to the HTC Touch Pro

Discussion in 'Alltel' started by craiggiarc, May 17, 2009.

  1. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thinking about moving to the HTC Touch Pro

    I wonder if double posting rules apply when the post is on two different sub-forums?

    I've just posted this over at everythingHTC but wanted to ask here two considering that I am contemplating moving from the Q to HTC.

    Your thoughts would be most welcome.

    Craig
  2. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went from the original Sprint Q to the Touch Pro. Any specific questions?
  3. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to make sure that I can update the PRL, I would like to unlock the GPS. :)
  4. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, being that I don't know what PRL is, I can't help you. I haven't unlocked the GPS, but I am able to access the GPS with 3rd party apps, like Google Maps, Live Search, GPSToday, etc.

    I do have a Sprint Touch Pro. I can't speak to the other carrier's models.
  5. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the past it has been easier to unlock the GPS on HTC phones. as a mod from EHTC It was a good upgrade for me at least
  6. regression

    regression New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the advantage of unlocking it? I can use the GPS with all the 3rd party apps I have tried so far.
  7. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the issue is that Sprint tend to leave their GPS open/unlocked to be used with any software, where as Alltel, Verizon and others lock it down so that you have to buy there software.
  8. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    you are correct sir

Share This Page