"The File Format Is Invalid"

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by WhatISaQ, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. WhatISaQ

    WhatISaQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    "The File Format Is Invalid"

    I took a video using the phone itself, and when I tried to play it via Start>My Pictures & Videos> File name 041 the phone displays a message "The file format is invalid". The properties for the file as follows: name=041; File Type= 3GP Video; Dimensions=N/A; File Size=18MB; Date Created=09/05/2008; Protected=No. I know it is a large file, however I figure that if I recorded the file with the device itself it would be able to replay it? Has anyone had this issue as well? I searched for this issue in the forum and found nothing that related so I apologize if this has been solved before.
  2. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Is WMP your default player? Have you installed another, like TCPMP? If so, could be a file association problem?
  3. WhatISaQ

    WhatISaQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    No modifications

    WMP is my default player. I have installed no other media apps at all. This is quite puzzling. I have a feeling that the size of the file has something to do with it. I had taken multiple videos at the same event that day and they all play well, but are not as large.
  4. BoostedKnight

    BoostedKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're not the only one who has had this problem. If you search, you'll see 2 or 3 other threads as well. I've had this problem since the day I upgraded (never noticed it before) to WinMo 6.1. I can't play any video at any resolution taken on the phone.
  5. WhatISaQ

    WhatISaQ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow!?!

    That is retarded! I do not have my usb cable on me but I wonder if I transfer the file to my laptop if it will play there? Will it work on Vista? I read in another thread about the problems with vista. I tried to connect via bluetooth on vista and xp and couldnt get it to work. I am unsure of the activesync on vista?
  6. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Syncing with Vista requires Windows Mobile Device Center rather than Activesync.
  7. BoostedKnight

    BoostedKnight New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    0
    That it does. Even then though, the file type is associated with quicktime and still won't open on my computer either. So, I have no clue what the camera is doing to mess up the files as it records them.
  8. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know either. I've never used the Q to make video, so I can't help ya there. Just trying to make sure we weren't overlooking the obvious! :wink:

Share This Page