The amazing vanishing letters!!!

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by madmedicjim, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. madmedicjim

    madmedicjim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    The amazing vanishing letters!!!

    Having a problem with my texting. The letters stop appearing on the screen as I type them. Only the first handful of letters show up. I text a couple hundred times a day. Was fine then BAM here is the problem. It still will register but not show up until I send the message. This has happened before and went away with a master reset. I would rather not do that again.

    I have the Q9M with Win 6.1
  2. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    I've seen this quite a few time too. Unfortunately a MR seem the only cure. There are some corrupted strings somewhere and they are impossible to find. Sorry, man. :) -Q
  3. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    try turning predictive text off and clearing the input history
  4. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried turning of predictive text and clearing out that history. How many text do you have on your phone?
  5. madmedicjim

    madmedicjim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Predictive text is off, and I delete conversations when I start to get a slow down of it loading. Right now there is probably only about 50 or so texts in the memory. I do not want to be doing a MR every month. Is it a 6.1 problem?
  6. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Might work but did not in the instances I've been involved with. ON or OFF, it seemed like whatever the damage, it was already done. Can't hurt to try though. :) -Q
  7. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    I've seen it in 6 and 6.1. FWIW :) -Q
  8. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was a problem that showed up in the Q9m before people were flashing it with 6.1
    try downloading SK tools which will clear all temporary files and can also fix bad registry entries
  9. madmedicjim

    madmedicjim Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Running sklite now.

    Verizon said just get a new phone for $50 through insurance....
  10. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Just call VZW back and tell them "IT'S NOT THE PHONE, STUPID !!!!" :) -Q
  11. nesknowitall

    nesknowitall New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    This happened when my phone got fixed (read my thread about my Q dying). Only fixed by a master reset. I couldn't get anything to work right even after cleaning it all up so a MR was the only way it would work.

Share This Page