TCPMP - HELP! ACC no longer supported

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by tharmsen, Sep 4, 2006.

  1. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    TCPMP - HELP! ACC no longer supported

    Does anyone have an earlier version (a month old or so) of TCPMP 0.72RC1??? I just downloaded the current build from Cores website and it no longer supports AAC (iTunes) files!!! It gives a warning saying they have removed it for intellectual property reasons.

    I lost my original when I updated to the new Motorola OS update.

    Darn... can anyone help???
  2. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok I am sharing the AAC cab file for you TCPMP users who, like me, have a newer build that now has the AAC support removed. Apparently Apple didn't like Core supporting the AAC format. This isn't surprising given Apple has pretty much prevented all MP3 hardware manufacturers from supporting the AAC format. (I sooo hate Apple/Mac at times for this crap)

    Anyway, if you find yourself with a newer release of TCPMP that doesn't supoprt AAC, install this CAB file.

    Here's how you do it.

    1) find out where you have TCPMP installed (it must be installed first)
    2) copy this CAB file to your device (I put it on my SD card)
    3) use file explorer and navigate to the CAB file on your SD card
    4) click on the CAB file name to start the install
    5) when prompted tell the device where you would like to install the CAB file (select the place where your TCPMP is currently installed, either Device or Storage Card)
    6) follow the prompts (click yes to accepting the file although it's not signed)

    Boom, you're done. Launch TCPMP and select a AAC file to play and it will work once again.
  3. Tao

    Tao New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Grabbed the aac .cab in case it needs to be mirrored in the future...
  4. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good call. Now that I know this feature will not be in future releases, we'll have to archive not only the CAB file but also version 0.72RC1 as I'm not sure the CAB will be compatible with future releases.
  5. tharmsen

    tharmsen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a link to the 0.72RC1 version WITH AAC support.

    You won't need the CAB file with the installable above.
  6. EXRN

    EXRN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I tried to install the older file and my q crashed. I think I was lacking space. I deleted some files including the TCPMP folder. For some reason the TCPMP icon changed, but didn't go away. Also, when I tried installing the older program, the q apparently still had some TCPMP files on it.

    The program seems to work, but it won't show MP4 files even though I have them associated.

    I would like to totally uninstall the program and start over, but I don't know how to do that. Any ideas?
  7. BittenToDeath

    BittenToDeath New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now i am not sure if this is the problem, but i get no audio from the videos i have recorded with my Q when i play them with this program. Am i supposed to be hearing something?
  8. EXRN

    EXRN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I finally figured out how to unistall the program correctly... For those of you that are new like me, you can remove programs by going into "settings".

    Now the bad news... I loaded the file that was mentioned above (tcpmp.smartphone.0.72rc1.exe) and for some reason, there is no ACC file association choice.

    Any Ideas?
  9. Tired.Monkey

    Tired.Monkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    tested??

    I know its an old thread but we never know...

    ok that is just tooo AWESOME

    but before i will install that, i wana be sure its works well.

    Anyone beside tharmsen tried it yet? If yes, how did you like this software? It is work fine? Did you get some bugs by using it?

    Thx in advance for all information.

    P.S. Thx alot tharmsen for the .cab, i was looking for that for a while
  10. Tired.Monkey

    Tired.Monkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i finnaly tried it by my self.

    i installed the .cab file, then check if i have the plug-in in my TCPMP folder. I have a file named : aac.plg.

    i asociated the aac with TCPMP

    but it tell me that i dont have the audio codec (qualcomm QCELP)

    what i did wrong, tough with that plug-in i was be able to read the ".3G2" file made from my Q.

    Do i was wrong?

    Please help, i really wana play those video in full screen mode on my Q with the sound.

    Any information will be appreciated
  11. MsRandall

    MsRandall New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you please please repost your version...thanks a q newbie:smile:
  12. Whittier

    Whittier New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, please post this version. The link no longer seems to work.
  13. michaelharp

    michaelharp New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    help with my moto q


    i have no idae what the hell im doing i down loaded the tcpmp on my q so that i could watch vids and now i have no idea what to do know somebody help me
  14. bpaul24

    bpaul24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to go into TCMP and set your file associations. I am on my Q so sorry I can not tell you the location. Just look around in the options in the TCMP.
  15. Jpike005

    Jpike005 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    can we still get TCPMP or do you need to buy the core player for $19.99???
  16. bpaul24

    bpaul24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should be able to download the free version. Go to everythingq home page and go to the free software section. It should be under the multimedia section.
  17. twelvetreeez

    twelvetreeez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    How solved????

    I know this awhile ago, but I am having this same problem. How did you solve it????????:angry:
  18. bpaul24

    bpaul24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    0
    What problem are you having, No Sound?
  19. twelvetreeez

    twelvetreeez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    exactly

    Before it begins to show the video< it says that audio codec Qualcomm (QCELP) is not supported. It shows the video just fine; eventhough it is silent.
  20. bpaul24

    bpaul24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like you need to install the right audio codec. What is your email or PM me it and I will send it to you.

Share This Page