"system" in task manager = 6+mb of ram

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by backdown00, Jul 3, 2008.

  1. backdown00

    backdown00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    "system" in task manager = 6+mb of ram

    Hey all, I just wanted tog et an idea of how much ram your "system" exe is running when in task manager. Does anyone know if this number can be decreased by reg edits?
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    varies from moment to moment...
  3. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    not a constant thing. no reason to change it. its like taking ram out of a pc. I would want to increase it
  4. backdown00

    backdown00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only ask because after my phone starts up, I have about 21 megs of free ram, more than half is taken up by I guess system processes and such so I am just trying to have as much free ram as possible. I wish this phone had 128mb ram.
  5. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    SKTools has a great free program. it has a ram free up that works great. its on the app page.
  6. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    This phone doesn't really need 128mb tbh. All that would do is make the phone more expensive. Not like the HTC Mogul which actually does need 128.
  7. backdown00

    backdown00 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    After all is said is done you get 21mb to yourself to use for programs. If I open opera, and have jivetalk running in the background, and have extreme text open , I'm already at like 90% of my ram. This phone without a doubt needs 128mb of ram. It is for this reason the phone is a good phone and not a great phone. I would assume the lack of rma is why there are so many "my phone locks up" threads.
  8. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just for fun, I ran:
    spb wallet
    Live Search
    Pocket IE
    Instant Messaging
    Outlook
    jbed + opera mini 4.1
    Core Player watching a 700mb 720p video

    47.5 of 51.8mb used

    Negative results? Nothing. WM automatically does the process management. The video playback didn't even get choppy.
  9. ptlee8202

    ptlee8202 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    would be an interesting contest to find out who can run the most programs for the longest without problems.
  10. papped

    papped New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Odds are more likely that you will find a bug in a particular program than the phone OS though.

Share This Page