Switching from 3G to WiFi

Discussion in 'Windows Phone 7' started by Gonzalo, Jan 20, 2011.

  1. Gonzalo

    Gonzalo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    At work, we have a wireless signal. So I connected my HD7 to the wi-fi network.

    My question is this; when my phone connects by wifi, will my apps and browser use the wi-fi for data? Or do I need to do an extra step for it use the wifi signal, NOT the 3G signal?

    Thanks!
  2. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    It should prioritize and use WiFi instead of 3G.
  3. Gonzalo

    Gonzalo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did notice both the 3G and Wi-Fi icons on the top left corner. Just didnt kow if data was being pulled from the 3G or Wi-Fi signal. From what I can tell, it doesnt indicate which signal it's pulling data from.
  4. chris

    chris Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    6,069
    Likes Received:
    37
    Try some speed tests. That should tell you if you are on WiFi or 3G.
  5. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    You can turn off 3G, if you like.

    settings/cellular/data connection[off]
  6. MrAndrewAu

    MrAndrewAu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep. Another tip would be to pin the settings tile to your homescreen so you can access this quickly.
  7. Htet Naing Lynn

    Htet Naing Lynn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    I dun risk since I been seeing quite a lot of bugs on the phone. Put the setting on ur home screen and go there turn off 3G data and turn on Wi-fi. better be on safe side rather than get surprised by the bill at month end. [​IMG]

Share This Page