SMS text threading program similar to that used on Treo 650!

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by Franco Q, Jul 18, 2006.

  1. dragonauta

    dragonauta New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I wrong, or is having this program resident in memory affecting battery life? I started using it and my q's battery life was down to a days worth. I removed it and now it's back to normal, with the same amount of calls per day.
  2. Q estion

    Q estion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    its free whare you talking about tom
  3. quebert

    quebert New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have it set to play an mp3 as the tone when I recieve an SMS, it seems without me doing anything I have to change it back to the mp3 every few days, it automatically reverts to the "beep" when I get one. Anyone else encoutered this?
  4. dipgolf

    dipgolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I install and then run it on my Q is says I don't have the current .Net Compact Framework installed on my handheld. I followed the link on the site but the new .Net Framework was 37mb! Just got my Q today so I guess I need to update the software.
  5. Ben74

    Ben74 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    dipgolf, the .NET Framework doesn't actually take up 37MB on your phone. it only takes up 2-3MB.
  6. teamlinx

    teamlinx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    sms off?

    i DL the version at http://benhirashima.com/hostedFiles/...dSMS_Beta1.zip

    mainly so i could chat with my lady.
    when im not talking to her the chat feature isn't needed
    is there a way to turn off smsthreader once its dl?

    then turn it on when im talking to her?
  7. Rev

    Rev New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow :laugh:

    The only thing that was keeping me from switching over to the Q from my Treo650 was the chat app in Palm OS (after using my Treo for almost a year and a half)

    Now I'm happy :thumbup: Thanks!
  8. teamlinx

    teamlinx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    home screen programmer??

    i downloaded a custom home screen for the q
    i think it was carbon fiber one
    then used the xml and pictures to manipulate the pictures

    question is the bottom "all day" bar i want to open sMS threader

    - <plugin clsid="{95976968-45D5-40c9-9779-2B859B1C2FEC}" name="profile" height="23" width="320">

    is this what im looking to manipulate to get it open?
  9. Red

    Red New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed the newer version of this and in the options menu there is a place to check if you don't want the built-in program to save the msgs.

    here is the link to the newer version:
    http://benhirashima.com/software/

    Thanks Ben74
  10. Jpike005

    Jpike005 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone else having issues downloading it? i have the black q so im assuming that it wont work given the disclaimer, but wanted to try nonetheless...it wont even go to the download screen on my mac

    also i downloaded the update to teh NET framework, but cant find it...where would it go on the Q after it was installed? im not using the program now so may as well delete it and save the 25 mb
  11. inf3st

    inf3st New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jpike,

    ben may have made the program unavailable to download because of the current issues with mol2 update (which your phone has). microsoft screwed up this last update which causes any program using a certain itap.dll file, that uses net 2, to crash said program. microsoft is comming up with a fix for this (no idea on a time frame though).

    Hope this helps.
    Dustin
  12. Jpike005

    Jpike005 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds good, thanks dustin
  13. Bwizzy

    Bwizzy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this Chat app work with the Sprint Q or has anyone tried it yet. I'm a new Q user and I just switched to the Q from the 700p.
  14. inf3st

    inf3st New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would assume that the sprint Q has the mol2 update. If it does have the mol2 then no it won't work. but it wouldn't hurt to give it a try and then let us know.
  15. widdlewade

    widdlewade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried on my Sprint Q...it didn't work. :embarassed:
  16. inf3st

    inf3st New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah. That's what most sprint users are saying. Hopefully microsoft will fix this.
  17. widdlewade

    widdlewade New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    One commonality between Txtman, Blade's sms program, and the palm threaded hack, at least on the Sprint Q, is that when you send a message, even after it is sent (meaning the message isn't stuck in thr outbox), the receiver get a blank message.
  18. xrussx

    xrussx New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. di_nate

    di_nate New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been using Text man for a long time. After a couple months of use, it randomly stopped working. An error message came up and it just wouldn't open. I uninstalled it and reinstalled it again and the error still came up. Then I reset my entire Q and put everything back on and installed txt man again and it worked.

    It has now just done it again. And I cannot bother with reseting the entire q to factory because I have a lot of applications on it. I was wondering what the problem could be, the error message is:

    ERROR

    An unepected error has occurred in txtman.exe. Select quit and then restart this program or select details for more information.

    An error message cannot be displayed because an optional resource assembly containing it cannot be found.

    Details:
    TxtMan.exe
    ArgumentException
    An error message cannot be displayed because an optional resource assembly containing it cannot be found at
    system.throwhelper.throwArgumentException0
    at
    System.Collections.Generic.SortedList2.Add
    0
    at TxtMan.MainForm.RefreshThreadList0
    at TxtMan.MainForm.MainForm_Load0
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad0
    at
    System.Windows.Forms.Form._SetVisibleNotify0
    at
    SystemWindows.Form.Control.set Visible()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run0
    at TxtMan.Program.Main0

    Help would GREATLY be appreciated. If no one can figure this out, are there any other text programs I could use? i cannot reset my q again, it is to big of a hassle. Thanks in advanced everyone
  20. inf3st

    inf3st New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does NOT work.

Share This Page