SkyFire

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by Wetfoot, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. yameen1

    yameen1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway to get back the feature where when you click on "Sports" on the Skyfire homepage, it gives you different options of which sports site you want to go to (ESPN, etc...)? It seems to send you by default to Yahoo Sports.

    Same issue for the rest of the categories (news, entertainment, social networks, etc...). Thanks.
  2. mysteray

    mysteray New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    just downloaded v 0.8.0.6883 today and it doesn't seem to want to load. the screen will go from saying "locating" to "authenticating" to "preparing to load" and then it just sits until the screen goes blank. when i press a key, that sequence starts again. the only thing under menu is exit. i tried rebooting the phone but that didn't help. is this the server issue people are talking about?
  3. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    may still be related. the authentication problems are cleared up for WM, but they may still be working on the servers
  4. mysteray

    mysteray New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, now it gets to "authenticating" and then asks for my user/pass. keeps looping there. hope they get it figured out soon.
  5. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    try resetting your password from the skyfire site (on a PC)
  6. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been there, done that (multiple times...)...Still having problems. I'm sticking with the .6 version until theses issues are fixed.
  7. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    is It scrolling very slow for you, it is again for me. is it my phone or the server?
  8. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    try deleting the auth.text file, or open it and id you see either of these:

    AffiliateID=uid=XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXX


    OR


    [Config]
    uid=XXXXXXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXXXXXXXXXXAffiliateID=

    remove the AffiliateID= section
    (it's ok if it's in a separate line)
  9. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Baby steps, Paco! I have no idea where to lool for the auth.text file, and the other 2 suggestions???? Like I have any idea where to begin!
  10. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    no sign of affiliateID in the file.
  11. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paco, what is the benefit of the newer version? The .6 version runs well enough on my phone.

    I would like to install the newer .cab file, but everytime I do, I have problems. Keeps asking for username and password. Reset on pc, but still happening. Looked great the 1 or 2 times it actually worked!

    If you explain the other info you gave earlier, I could try that.

    Thanks in advance!

    potQ(WM5) in PIE
  12. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    \program files\skyfire
  13. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded the newer .cab file, and it installed without a problem. Clicked on link in start menu, loaded fine, & here I am....

    Let's see how long it lasts. Otherwise, I'll have to try to remove the auth.txt file (if I can even find it!)
  14. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    pssst, see my previous post :)


    I tried deleting that fike a few times before..no worky. maybe thy got it fixed *shrugs*
  15. freki

    freki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed this for the first time and it works wonderful! When I zoom in, the pages are a little pixelated, but it resolves. It loads so much faster than Opera Mobile does, and I can watch YouTube videos without a problem! I'm so happy with it!
  16. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    *Holding my breath*
  17. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still working.......still don't use it that much...logged on to see Geekster's off topic post...worked....holding my breath too!
  18. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine has worked fine since last night

    Mine has worked fine since last night......There is a post on Skyfire that says a problem w/ server has been resolved. Are there still problems today?
  19. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    there shouldn't be. they pulled an all nighter last night
  20. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank them for me! (Still working..)

Share This Page