SkyFire

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by Wetfoot, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0

    Tried it earlier today. Didn't work...
  2. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    try pressing the menu key first...
  3. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually got hulu to play a video in skyfire, and was able to adjust the sound somewhat. However, it was like watching a poorly dubbed Japanese Godzilla film...the picture was about 5 seconds ahead of the video...
  4. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a new announcement put out by the skyfire admin (Cheryl) today
  5. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Skyfire instant Download??

    Did anyone see this?
    http://support.skyfire.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=959

    QUOTE (somebetauser @ Aug 26 2008, 10:53 AM) [​IMG]
    I saw something online about Skyfire now being avialable to all. I went here to see news/announcements. There should be a section of the Board for announcements that include what the latest version is, release notes, etc.

    Skyfire is available for instant download until August 30th if users use the Michael8 code to celebrate Michael Phelps 8 gold medals. The beta is still a closed private beta.
  6. PTAaron

    PTAaron New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where does one use this code to download the program?
  7. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. PTAaron

    PTAaron New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha! Thanks. I was looking more specifically for where to enter it on that site - www.skyfire.com was already fairly obvious. ;)

    In case anyone else wasn't 100% sure - after you start the sign up process you put the code in. I had already signed up without that code, but went back and re-signed up using it and immediately got the download link.

    Looks pretty nice so far! I LOVE that you can watch movies/videos without having to run TCPMP!
  9. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    ================================Glad I helped some one get it early....I waited months. I like the browser....needs to have download ability. It is useful when veiwing EQ on my Q9m...youcan use the 'thanks' button and post! Posted via Q9m.
  10. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    download ability is being worked on, as well as better tracking for the cursor, and in-line text entry (among other things)
  11. MBK2

    MBK2 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Single column text on certain sites was one of my feedbacxk recomendations to them, and I hope they get it done as well... really sucks to scan all the way to the right, then all the way to the left, just to read 'each' line!
  12. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    Re-naming bookmarks would be nice

    ====================================
    The ability to rename your bookmarks would be nice!
  13. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else notice that it really likes to close a lot? If I get a call it closes. If I open any other app it closes. I was going to suggest to them for a feature to make it the default browser but it closes so often and takes so long to load that I shut up and went back to mini.
  14. craiggiarc

    craiggiarc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is due to the way that the Windows Mobile OS handles memory and if it needs to find some it will just close whatever it can, not sure if it bases this on any criteria but it will simply close it.

    I've gone back to using Skyfire quite a bit after learning about the SmartFit option and the fact that I am now on EVDO. Yesterday I watched the whole of the Chelsea v Spurs game live in streaming video with no issues at all. It was great. :laugh2:
  15. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well yes and no. They could easily instruct the OS that part of the memory is not disposable so that the stub stays running. Lots of programs do it. It's an oversight on their part I think.
  16. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet! Thanks
  18. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    oops, not on the forums yet. should be soon. you should be able to download it like the other versions
  19. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool..I'm sure your gonna tell us the new features now..right?

    :)
  20. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    the new features are listed on the skyfire forums. they have been very picky lately about people posting features outside of the skyfire forums (people have been removed from the beta)

Share This Page