sk tools on rudeboys apps, which one?

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by mmmdiesel, Mar 25, 2009.

  1. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great info and thanks!

    How safe is the registry compaction? Tells me a 24% decrease in size is possible.

    I know all of this stuff on the PC, but not on the phone world. Never used any of this on my Q, never had a problem. Not having any problems now, just trying to be proactive.
  2. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never used it. SKTools claims not to anything that will harm the phone. So far for me, it has not.
  3. moparmikey007

    moparmikey007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    theres only one way to find out. back everything up and try it. if it breaks, put it back together with your back up. if its better, yeah!!!!
  4. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Easy to say when it's not your phone <G>
  5. Hyundaifixer

    Hyundaifixer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    so I just ran SKtools5.cab on my q9c with wm6.1. Now when I get calls/texts there is no sound.

    I tried to go into settings....and it says settings cannot be opened.

    If I move my pim.vol to my storage card to do a master rest, Where do I move it back to on the phone? (I forgot where I pulled it from).

    My problem is that the phone has a long lag to it. I'm not seeing my text as I input it. Does it in emails to. I've cleard text memory.

    I was getting a low memory message, cleaned out google maps, pictures I had....nothing seems to work.

    I just pulled the battery to see what happenes now. I did have the lagging problem a few months ago, but that was fixed...this one isnt as simple it looks like.
  6. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    pim.vol resides in the root of your Q....no folders.
  7. Hyundaifixer

    Hyundaifixer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    so if I'm going to do a master reset, do I just move the PIM to the storeage card, master reset then move it back to the phone?
    SK tools isnt helping my lag proble.
  8. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup...thats it. will need another file explorer other than stock to do it but their are free ones. also...plenty of step by step directions here! =)
  9. manbat

    manbat Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,131
    Likes Received:
    3
    You will need to rename the one that is in the phone after the master reset to something else. I use pim1.vol, then copy the saved one from the storage card to the phone . I always resart and then delete the renamed one. Works like a charm.
  10. Hyundaifixer

    Hyundaifixer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    another file explorer? I just selected it and moved it to the storage card....no issues.

    Would all of this be mute if I just sync'd it to a computer, did the master reset then rescync'd it?

    I got ya. I read about that but could not find the thread again.

    1. move original pim.vol to storage card
    2. perform master reset
    3. rename pim.vol on device pim1.vol after master reset
    4. move pim.vol from storage card to device
    5. delete pim1.vol
    6. all should be good....

    The phone is pretty much useless right now. I ran SKtools5 and I now cannot access my sound settings, so when someone calls me, no ringing @ all. I'm not happy with the sktools.

Share This Page