"Seeking GPS satellites (0)" with Google maps

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by infinitenothing, Nov 29, 2008.

  1. infinitenothing

    infinitenothing New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Seeking GPS satellites (0)" with Google maps

    I did a quick search and found all sorts of info on phones from Verizon and Sprint. My provider is CBeyond. Is there any way to tell how to get GPS support?

    In GPS settings my "number of fixes" is "always on" and my time between fixes is 2 seconds and my performance is 16 seconds.

    TIA
  2. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome!
    I'm on Sprint and if you're roaming it takes FOREVER to get a lock.

    You should also check to see if your provider locks down GPS.
    Also, I would do a search around here; the correct gps settings for Google Maps have been posted.
  3. cindra

    cindra Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know anything about CBeyond, but welcome to the forum! :tounge:
  4. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    my humble opinion...if it turns out your carrier has gps locked liked verizon and would have to run multiple apps to bypass...just grab a bluetooth gps receiver ($40-60) and never look back!
  5. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to agree with TF. it seems to me that all of the carriers that support the Q9c (other than sprint) have locked the GPS to one degree or another
  6. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked at the listed specs for the Q9c at CBeyond and it doesn't mention GPS on either the feature list or the complete specification page. So the GPS probably was locked down.
  7. infinitenothing

    infinitenothing New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would think that they would only lock down the phone if they were going to offer some sort of monthly fee service. I don't think this is the case. I wonder if it's just slow.

    I assume there's no unlocking hack available?
  8. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are a whole bunch of users in the Q Hacks section trying to unlock the GPS for Verizon Qs, but I don't know if that would help. Like you said, we're still not sure it's actually locked.
  9. kamran5461

    kamran5461 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    if u have sprint as ur carrier, the gps works like a dream with google maps.
  10. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    uhhmm...hello! he said he doesn't!! or this would be a no-brainer....

Share This Page