SAMOLED Screen, inaccurate, wavy colors?

Discussion in 'Samsung Focus' started by Pancake mix, Dec 22, 2010.

1. Pancake mix

Pancake mix New Member

Small intro, i work AT&T Retail, and im a professional photographer. Done.

I own an iPhone 4 & a Samsung Focus. Gave up a Captivate for the Focus, VERY HAPPY!

Now this wont be a big deal to most, but the SA Screen colors pop. In fact, they are over saturated. Color Transitioning is terrible, and most photos looks like crap. Again its not a big deal, but I strongly disagree that SA Display looks better than Retina Display.

I took a couple of side by side comparison photos with my Nikon D300 to better explain the waves that you might have heard about. It did this on my Captivate as well, but no where near as bad as it looks on my Samsung focus, which has me wondering if it has something to do with WP7. I will look on a HTC surround and LG Quantum at the same photos to see if it has the same waves.

Here are a couple comparison shots.

#1 Focus at Top, iPhone 4 at bottom

[​IMG]

#2 Focus Top, i4 bottom
    [​IMG]

#3 iPhone4 Left, Focus Right
    [​IMG]

#4 iPHone4 left, Focus Right
    [​IMG]

Took the shots with both phones in the frame, pictures aren't altered except resized.
    What you see is what it looks like. Feel free to view the same photos on your focus and see if its the same results. Feel free to post your shots. Links are here.

http://www.ericdejuan.net/uploads/saretina4.JPG
    http://www.ericdejuan.net/uploads/saretina1.JPG
    http://www.ericdejuan.net/uploads/saretina2.JPG
    http://www.ericdejuan.net/uploads/saretina5.JPG
    ninjaap likes this.
  2. izzypizzy

izzypizzy Member

I'm seeing sort of similar results, but not nearly as drastic as yours.
  3. ninjaap

ninjaap Moderator

Would love to see results from HTC and LG phones. Thanks for these comparison shots.
  4. jtzako

jtzako New Member

Mine doesnt look like that at all. It looks better than my friends iphone 4 in fact.
  5. jab119