Saga specific Registry Hacks

Discussion in 'Samsung Saga' started by larsdennert, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Saga specific Registry Hacks

    Update 6/28/09:
    I've decided to compile a script that can apply Hacks to the phone. Many people don't like to hack around on their phone using a registry editor and others, including myself, sometimes forget all the hacks and where to find them. So, I figured I'd help out. First download and install Mortscript from

    http://www.sto-helit.de/index.php?module=download&action=list&entry=18

    Then copy this file to your phone and run it using your file explorer:

    http://67.122.16.97/lars/misc/smartphone/saga/RegHacksSaga.mscr
    Current version is v1.0

    Updated versions will always be in this location. The program will ask for each hack prior to applying it. You can run the program multiple times. Please make suggestions for additional hacks and I will update. The app can do other customizations besides registry though it doesn't at the moment.


    <Old Post>

    I had a few issues so I started comparing registry versions to locate specific keys.

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\ControlPanel\BackLight]

    "KeyBacklightTimeout"=dword:00000005


    I changed this one to 30 seconds so that the keyboard wouldn't turn off so quickly while I was typing at night.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    [ H K E Y _ L O C A L _ M A C H I N E \ S o f t w a r e \ M i c r o s o f t \ S h e l l \ R a i ]

    " S e s s i o n T i m e o u t " = d w o r d : 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1

    I'd like the homescreen to time out faster than one hour but it looks like the reg entry is in hours. The only way to solve this one is to write a small app that checks this idle entry and returns the focus to the homescreen. Maybe I'll do that one day.
  2. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    now we're getting to the meat
  3. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    That backlight one is a good find. I remember we had a previous conversation where I was completely wrong in what I stated was the answer. Mea culpa.

    What do you mean about the homescreen timing out after an hour? I'm not sure I understand, so before I state what I think mine does, I'd like to clearly understand what behavior you're referring to.
  4. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you leave the phone on a screen other than the home screen like say email, you can set the phone to return to the home screen after an hour or whatever. On a smartphone like the Q that timeout can be set very short to say ten min.
  5. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm...how do you get to that setting?
    Is that the "Today Timeout" on the Settings, Today screen?
    Never knew what that did
    If it is, now I do. <G>
  6. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    start settings today items
  7. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get rid of the random device wakeup.

    Start | Settings | System | Backlight

    Uncheck 'Turn off backlight if device is not used for'
  8. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be old news to many of you, and this may also apply to all Windows Mobile users, but I just stumbled across it. When in the list of messages in any of your mailboxes in the stock messaging app, there are several shortcuts that can be achieved by pressing and holding particular keys. The most important is "H", as holding that key brings up the list of shortcuts. Here is the full list:

    H- List Shortcuts
    A - Reply All
    R- Reply
    K - Mark Read/Unread
    F - Flag
    M - Move
    O - Forward
    D - Delete
    L - Download Message
    S - Send/Receive

    Again, this may surprise nobody but me, but I've been using several of these for the past couple of days, and it really speeds things up.
  9. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    regedit for getting rid of Fn keylock on MMS

    Regedit
    HKLM/Software/Samsung/MMS/Settings/AddressInputMode
    Change from 2 to 0
  10. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    to fiddle with pocket internet explorer's settings you need regedits- but for opera just go to the address bar- delete the address that's there completely (eg get rid of the http:// part)

    then type "opera:" - a list of pages comes up: about, items in memory, CONFIG (nice web page based config editior), history, and plugins (might need to enable navigation mode on mouse to scroll down to the plug ins one.)
  11. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, shoot we have two threads going on this... never mind.
  12. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    must be pro specific....hitting H or whatever letter starts to filter email accordingly..on the 9c anyway! great tip though!
  13. larsdennert

    larsdennert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hold the H down. On the Q9 hold down the 0 (zero)
  14. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok..your right...wasnt hitting function to get numbers! thanks!
  15. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Frogger... long time no talk (we worked on the WM Loading icon together a while back). You mean to tell me you haven't made the "leap" to the SAGA yet?

    lol, sorry, I know corny, but I couldn't resist the "leap" comment...



    Jon
  16. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    whats up Jon?! yeah...i remember the good ole loading icon days! i still miss my "spinning ace"! been meaning to load up the app that does it for wm6+ but havent yet!

    saga...yeah. my verizon account is marked for a free upgrade to one but only in-store. so far...not good! starting to think thats why they said that!
  17. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Send me your Q, I'll exchange it for you... all (at least most) of my local stores have the Saga.

    Thats a pretty crummy deal if you ask me.... why the heck can't they just ship you one?
  18. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 5 phones total that have crap signal (mostly data) since i moved from sprint towers. account is marked free to leave! anyone i call within vz says goodbye! but my local stores say will give me a saga (wifi) to keep me.

    you live where again? =)
  19. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see... can't believe Verizon would say that!! Verizon has been SUPERIOR to me on all levels. They (phone/data AND customer service) have been great for me!

    I live in the Central Illinois - Peoria area.
  20. jmorisey

    jmorisey New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    MS Voice Command TTS Speed

    I wouldn't call this a SAGA specific hack, but it is in the registry so I will put it here.

    [HCLU\Software\Microsoft\Speech\Voices]

    change the string DefaultTTSRate to a lower number to decrease the TTS speed or a higher number to increase the speed. (default is 4)

    The change take affect immediately.


    Jon

Share This Page