S.O.S. HKLM editing froze my Q :(

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by sanity, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.O.S. HKLM editing froze my Q :(

    I went HKLM\Software\Motorola\BPCTRLR\WaveDev\BaseGains and changed the value responsible for the stereo headset (by the name) from 11 to 15. After that I cannot restart my Q :( The Moto screen freezes forever! Was it too loud? :(

    Is a hard reset the only way out? :(
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    yikes.... can you sync ? there is a registry editor that runs on the pc but you have to have access.

    and yes, a Master Reset might be your only way out.
  3. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. BIGD

    BIGD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    set up new partnership it might help
  5. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't. It's dead. The horrible thing about it is - it won't even master reset. Hellomoto screen lights up after pressing center navigation button and red power button simultaneously. No dialogue appears. I'm in hell.
  6. BIGD

    BIGD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow sucks , use ur warranty if u have it .
  7. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you try a power-off and on while holding the center chrome button of the D-pad ?
  8. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't a red power key reboots the phone? If I have to reboot while holding them both, what should I press to reboot?
    Lol :) The silliest question I've ever asked.
  9. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    no... turn off the phone.
    then turn it back on while you hold the center chrome button of the D-pad.
  10. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing. It shows the logo as before.

    EDIT:
    unless I have to turn it off while holding D-pad button as well...
  11. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is suppose to show the Master Reset... (i never actually seen it), hmz, so perhaps there is an exchange in your near future :(
  12. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't have to be USB connected during master reset, does it?
  13. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    nope... does not matter.
  14. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Darn it. Taking it to service center tomorrow.



    Going back from making themes to playing Morrowind. I am really pissed off. I did everything right. I edited registry like hundreds of times before on my mpx200 and it did't lead to such things. Arghhh.
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    bummer man... something must be really messed up if you can not even get to the Master Reset.
  16. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup. Having a bad week since Monday.
    Anyways, thanks for all the concern. I really appreciate that. You're the man :)
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    just curious...do you have a q9 or a q?
    there are different methods to master reset those devices
  18. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's Q.
    To lengthen my message to at least 10 characters, - it was is a lovely Q :tounge:
  19. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    aaah
    just checking...sure is a shame :frown:
  20. sanity

    sanity New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still have the Designer though :)

Share This Page