Ring tones. Sorry if this is dumb. Is there a way to download free ring tones?

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9c' started by jah2707, Jul 15, 2008.

  1. jah2707

    jah2707 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ring tones. Sorry if this is dumb. Is there a way to download free ring tones?

    Sorry if this is not the place to ask this. I have never had a smart phone before and was wondering if I needed to down load the ring tones to the phone or to a computer and then to the phone? Does anyone know of a good website? Thanks Oh I use alltel.
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    please search for ringtones

    you can use almost any sound file
  3. jah2707

    jah2707 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I just download them directly to my phone?
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you find a site via the Q sure
    if not then you can do it via the PC
  5. rbrainard

    rbrainard New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    0
    PhoneZoo! It's free and there are a lot of choices.
  6. mbrevard

    mbrevard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can use myxer.com from your Q and download directly to your phone.
  7. Boycan

    Boycan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. jah2707

    jah2707 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks everyone. I will check those out. I really need to get my 8 gig card in first.
  9. bnm81002

    bnm81002 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0


    I downloaded a few ringtones from them but how do I make it work on my Q9C? when I try to display it in my phone, it automatically goes into the media player, the ringtones are in MP3 format, can I change them to WMA format?
  10. bnm81002

    bnm81002 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    some help please, thanks
  11. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. PacoJr67

    PacoJr67 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    they don't really need to be wma, but as long as they are either in \application data\sounds or in the root of the memory card
    just go to start > settings > sounds to set the ringtone
  13. Boycan

    Boycan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    every song or ringtone I have is mp3 if you are using a card just put them in my documents folder if not just email them to yourself. you can send them text also.
  14. dafoxs

    dafoxs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    13,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    They won't work if they are in th document folder. they go in the root folder of the card.

    since when can you send them in a text?
  15. bnm81002

    bnm81002 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0

    I did that through activesync but when I do go to sounds it's not listed along with the other ringtones?
  16. fr4nk1yn

    fr4nk1yn New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    0
    doesn't the ringtones go in the \my documents\my ringtones foilder?

    A lot of ringtones can be found using g2p.org.
    I also used phonezoo with my previos phone, over the air was the only way to install ringtones and backgrounds.
  17. Boycan

    Boycan New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine are in my documents folder and they work just fine, they show up with along with all the factory ringtones when I am setting a ringtone for any contacts. :laugh2:
  18. mine I just throw into the sounds folder.
  19. DarkGemini

    DarkGemini New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
  20. taseedorf

    taseedorf New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mp3's are the way to go. Get a program like audacity to clip them for you.

    Stick them on storage card in the first directory, or else on your Q with the other mp3s.... don't use full sounds though, I've found this can cause some problems....phone freezing and such.

Share This Page