Right Menu Software

Discussion in 'Windows Phone Software' started by n99hockey, Jun 23, 2007.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    ok thats cool
    i have tried that program and it didnt work well for me...but maybe its for you...
    good luck!
  2. motoqme

    motoqme New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know is a little tricky at first. But really is alot more easy to use and I like it better.

    And thanks
  3. daggett003

    daggett003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Contacts button not working after removing RightMenu (I think!)

    I tried to remove RightMenu based on what was written in these posts ( Unchecked AutoRun box, kiled the App from memory, deleted icon from startmenun and most importantly deleted 2 right menu files from MyDocument (where it was installed)).

    It seemed like it worked, but my contacts (right soft key) is nt working. I get an error message along the lines of "Can not find file or shortcut."

    Did I miss a file that should have been deleted?

    Or do I need to re-program the Contacts button?

    Thanks for your help!

    daggett003

    Sent from my Q.
  4. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ daggett003; in case you need to recreate the shortcut, this post explains how to do that.. obviously the one you need to create one named Contacts.lnk
  5. daggett003

    daggett003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confused

    RB, so should I navigate to fakecursor.exe (could not find) as it says and create a new shortcut for the right softkey that points to the contacts link (could not find this either)

    Help!!!

    Sent from my Q.
  6. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    no.. forget the fakecursor.exe part, that does not apply in your case, just create a Contacts.lnk in \Windows\Start Menu.
  7. daggett003

    daggett003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Contacts.lnk was already there. Do I need to just point the right softkey to this link?

    Thanks again!

    daggett003

    Sent from my Q.
  8. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    now i am having a blond moment, i thought the right softkey looked for the Contacts.lnk... i'm now thinking you have to check in the registry.
  9. daggett003

    daggett003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you, or anyone else, know where in the registry this link assignment is? I browsed around a little bit but nothing ooked obvious.

    Thanks,

    daggett003

    Sent from my Q.
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you read this post ? follow the next few posts after that also.. you may have to install and uninstall again ?
  11. daggett003

    daggett003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I did that. It seems like it is completely off the system but the right softkey (only when in the home screen) lost its shortcut. the exact error I get is " Error opening the shortcut or locating the target filename."

    Should I try installing and uninstalling again?

    One note is that the "Run on Start" option they talk about in the other threads is listed as "AutoRun" on my copy of RightMenu (downloaded from N99Hockey's website).

    Thanks,

    daggett003
  12. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    from what i understand before you uninstall you have to make sure to uncheck the usage of either of the 2 soft keys, that is the key (no pun intended)
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    thats right....make sure the 'use' and 'auto-run' boxes an unchecked then remove all files and your good to go....

    -Sent from my Q
  14. daggett003

    daggett003 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys...that was the "key" (no pun intended :tounge:). I was unchecking the autorun box but not the "use right softkey" box. Working great now.

    I owe ya one! :wink:
    daggett003
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool... sorry i had a blond moment and couldn't figure out the step i missed until this morning.
  16. sulster

    sulster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Okay, so I decided to try the SmartToolkit Alpha cuz I didn't have no .bmp file and cuz I couldn't figure out how to ever GET to the Start Menu proper when using the Left RightKey.

    I went into Options and unchecked everything.

    So now I get this when I press the Start key:

    [​IMG]

    I don't see anyplace to uninstall it... maybe I should run the .exe again?
    Reboot?


    EDIT: Reboot worked
    Feeling pretty stupid right about now.
  17. sulster

    sulster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    1
    'splain further please. :)
  18. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow.... not sure if i understand myself + in the meantime i am using (beta) something else, see here.
  19. sulster

    sulster Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks interesting. I was able to go back and find the .zip file and therefore the .bmp file. So, that's working better.

    But, I still would like to be able to access the "real" Start menu from the L key and the only way I could think of was to try to do a Popup to the /Windows/Start Menu folder, but it won't show up...

    I *don't* want to have to do a Shortcut to every .lnk I have. Any other way to get to the programs than thru Start?

    P.S. thanks for the other. I posted in that thread... it looks very B&W though.
  20. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i made my like a windows start menu
    only downside was the original setup took a while as you had to select each .lnk file and place it where you want it to go...
    i have an image of it somewhere...maybe even in this thread

Share This Page