Replacing Startup Sound

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by rasmith3530, Sep 24, 2007.

  1. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    you would be better off using a registry editor like resco or total commander on the Q to do this
    you wont get those messages

    or you can try to remove the 'system' properties of the file and then overwrite it...but im not sure if that would work
  2. jeehole

    jeehole New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have resco, and that didn't work either. I did find a solution tho!

    [FONT='Helvetica','sans-serif']\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Motorola\SplashAnimation\Startup [/FONT][FONT='Helvetica','sans-serif']Change \windows\vzw_startup_sound.wav [/FONT][FONT='Helvetica','sans-serif']To \windows\*none* [/FONT]
  3. rasmith3530

    rasmith3530 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Again, for those that replace the startup sound file with something else (white noise, silence, their favorite tune, etc.), BACK UP the original before making your changes. In the event you want to return your Q to stock, a Master Reset won't put this back to what it was before. You will have to manually replace the original in the same way that you changed it in the first place.

    Rob
    +++++
    Sent from a Moto Q
    +++++
  4. twelvetreeez

    twelvetreeez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I correct??

    You did tell me awhile back, that all of the original hacks from the Q1 will work on the Q9 right? If not I will try and read this confusing thread again.
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    some will some wont...we do have a Q9m hack thread:wink:
  6. mwitzah

    mwitzah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still Searching For A 9M Fix!

  7. cm.inc

    cm.inc New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Removing Startup Shudown for a Q9h from Fido Canada

    Startup Sound

    \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Motorola\SplashAnimation\Startup\ Sound
    Change \windows\start.wav To \windows\*none*

    Shutdown Sound

    \HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Motorola\SplashAnimation\Shutdown\ Sound
    Change \windows\stop.wav To \windows\*none*
  8. broncosi

    broncosi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont have the splash animation on my Q1. And when i edited it to none as in the hack thread it shut it off but im having trouble replacing it with another sound, i tried to with MP3 and it did not work so i thought maybe it needed to be .wav so i tried that too. And i also tried overwriting the original piano.wav by naming my file i wanted as the startup sound to piano.wav and still nothing.

    any help is appreciated
  9. broncosi

    broncosi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0

    how can you overwrite that?? im getting the message that its in the ROM and it will not allow me to on my computer with activesync or on my Q
  10. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    use a registry editor like resco or total commander
  11. broncosi

    broncosi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    right thats what im talking about in TC. However i realized the sounds have to be in a specific spot. They can not just be droped into your sounds like you would a ringtone. They have to be placed in activesync under the windows folder.
  12. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    indeed.... and you might even have to copy them to a temp directory/folder and from there copy it to the \Windows directory.
  13. schulmand

    schulmand New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to your help, I found an easier solution

    I just used the Resco Registry editor to search for "vzw_startup"; found the key (unfortunately I changed it before I wrote it down; so I don't know what it is now); but then I changed the value to "*none*" and no sound. This works on the Q9c too.

Share This Page