replacement boot screens

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by 5k1ttl3, Oct 21, 2008.

  1. 5k1ttl3

    5k1ttl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    replacement boot screens

    So i've got some goodies for ya.

    A boot animation I made with the hackaday logo. It didn't turn out terrible.

    It took me about 15 minutes with paint.

    The only issue I have with it is that MSPAINT converts to JPEG pretty poorly. But meh. Too lazy to find photoshop.

    I've also attached a WM boot screen with the keywork.

    The filenames are correct, stick 'em in your \Windows\ Dir. (after backing up the old ones of course)

    if anyone else has any, please post them :smile:

    Attached Files:

  2. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty neat screens.

    I have a whole bunch I'll post when i get back to my computer.
  3. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    nice job!!:laugh2:
  4. TreeFrog

    TreeFrog Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    11,420
    Likes Received:
    0
    very nice!

    also...check out free paint.net! beats mspaint by miles!
  5. Vazguard

    Vazguard Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    5,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a thread with a bunch of boot screens in the Homescreens and Wallpapers section. Check it out here for ideas!
  6. snackpaq

    snackpaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    here's the one i made and am running on my phone.

    just as his was, its already named correctly, you just have to put it in the \windows folder.

    Attached Files:

  7. 5k1ttl3

    5k1ttl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. That is completely B.A. :smile:

    So apparently the animation isn't limited to 16 frames?

    What happens when you use a larger set of frames, does it play faster (more frames per second) or does it play longer?
  8. snackpaq

    snackpaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, i can be any size you want it to be, i just tested one out that had 44 frames and it played them all. and it plays them at the same frame rate no matter how many there are.
  9. 5k1ttl3

    5k1ttl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    well that's very interesting. So if you put say, 32 frames in there, it's going to play for twice as long as the original boot screen... I wonder what happens if we give it one frame - will it reduce boot time significantly? I'll have to give this a try....
  10. snackpaq

    snackpaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    you wondered right, putting one frame does significantly reduce boot time.
  11. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    But what fun is that?

    The animation makes the intro "pop" :)
  12. 5k1ttl3

    5k1ttl3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    ha. I'll trade a poppy intro for snappy boot time :)
  13. snackpaq

    snackpaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i noticed that too. but i figured its just one of those trade offs. if you want just a normal image there instead of an animation you can always just do the registry edit.

  14. Conquistador

    Conquistador New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your boot animation looks pretty sweet. Is it possible for you to zip it at full size? I'd like to see it in action. What program did you use to make this? I used Photoshop to make an XP style loading screen. It's on another thread... Photoshop worked well, but I didn't know if there was an easier way... a program specifically for animated jpegs.
  15. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    These arn't animated jpegs..they're just regular images.
  16. snackpaq

    snackpaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    i used GIMP to make the images. and they aren't any special type of animated JPEG, just a normal one. and the .zip file is too big to upload here. does anyone know anywhere else to upload it to?
  17. brandon.roeder

    brandon.roeder New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, just regular jpeg's

    And you can upload to any free hosting site such as photobucket..
  18. Conquistador

    Conquistador New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are jpegs that animate with the proper program... hence, animated jpegs. I know they're not animated in the same way as gifs. I know they're made up of regular jpegs. But it works under the same principle... with frames. I just didn't know if there was a program that stacks the frames sequentially. With Photoshop I just have to paste them all onto a separate canvas

Share This Page