Replace your Splash Screens

Discussion in 'Q Home Screens and Wallpapers' started by MachB5, Dec 4, 2006.

  1. chower

    chower New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool!

    very cool. just added these to my q. any one ever try using any animated gifs? Might be kinda cool to have the mac like hopping icons.

    Chris
  2. Stirman

    Stirman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint?

    Anyone know where these files are to replace on the new Sprint Q's?

    Thanks!
  3. malatesta

    malatesta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes,

    Get them here renamed (need to be logged in/registered to DL files):
    http://www.bradtipton.info/viewtopic.php?t=2461#22959

    Or for those interested here is how they are named on Sprint Moto Q:

    info.gif

    ques.gif

    volume.gif

    yell.gif

    cprogback.png

    cprogback_land.png
    (for in call)
  4. qwho

    qwho New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    They all work for me except for the sync background... do you have do something special for it to work... i am assuming this is the active sync bg...
  5. malatesta

    malatesta New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    For Sprint, it shouldn't be anything special I just haven't been able to find the right file for it to replace yet (since the naming is different). It should be an easy fix, my problem is I'm not sure when I see this screen so I don't know how it should look to begin with :laugh2: Makes finding it more difficult.
  6. keithf

    keithf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about Bell Mobility CDMA?

    Anyone know if these splash screens will work with Bell Mobility Q phones?
    I can't seem to find any of the image files downloaded with similar names in the windows/root directory.
  7. ZATZAi

    ZATZAi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hope you guys don't mind, but I took tom108's images from this post and the dialpad modification by asmith from this post to create a matching dialpad and statup image using tom108's theme.

    I can't find the activesync images myself still, oh and I looked into changing the startup animation, we Sprint users have a vzwanimation.bin, but that's not actually it, it's something else, some Motorola animation. Anyway here are the images if you want to take tom108's theme to the next step, I listed the named to use for a Sprint Q in bold beneath them (You'll have to restart your Q to see the change).

    [​IMG]
    ms_screen.png

    [​IMG]
    ms_splash.png

    Don't worry about the color change or the red, it doesn't show...

    [​IMG]
    dialpad.gif

    [​IMG]
    Carrierlogo.gif
  8. ZATZAi

    ZATZAi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh and an alternative to the image placed above for during the call, I prefer the one Tom had originally, but someone else modified it slightly (Positioned it better in relation to the caller info on screen), here is one like that.

    [​IMG]
    cprogback_land.png
  9. xnight

    xnight New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a startup screen for those of us that have the black Q

    [​IMG]

    follow these instructions for verizon's Q

    Change Startup Microsoft Splash Screen

    The file that we are dealing with is "ms_screen.png". The system uses this file for both the startup and shutdown screens. There are 2 ways to do this mod. The first is to create another image file named ms_screen.png, and move it into your windows directory. Of course it will need to be 320x240, and I would save in PNG format just to be safe. Be sure to make a backup of the original just in case you happen to botch something.
    The method that I chose was to create a PNG file, again 320x240, and save it under a different filename. Then, move this file into the Windows directory. Now it's time to edit the registry to point to this new file.

    The registy keys are located at: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Splash Screen
    We are interested in the CarrierBitmap, MSBitmap, and MSShutdownBitmap keys. They point to the \Windows\ms_screen.png file by default. Change all 3 to the new filename, and restart the Q. You should see your new startup logo after the Verizon logo and animations, prior to your Home screen coming up
  10. xnight

    xnight New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    And this is a caller id screen

    [​IMG]

    and we all know how to do this right?
  11. Dustinco

    Dustinco New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    these screens worked great for me....THANKS SO MUCH, THEY ROCK!!!!!
  12. FourTwenSesh

    FourTwenSesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    2,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup, that sounds like them, I can smell them from Petro-Canada towers where I work.....
  13. 65heloguy

    65heloguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0

    how do i get these images to work on a Q9M with verizon wireless service?
  14. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    the post you quoted has the steps in it...

    ps. i have a Q1 so i am not sure if the Q9 has the same image names... search, sure it's been discussed before.
  15. 65heloguy

    65heloguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks RudeBoy. I figured it out. you were right, the files are named differently on the Q9M. looks great now. I was so tired of those boring grey screens!
  16. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool.... now post the names of those files on a Q9m and it might help someone in the future..
  17. 65heloguy

    65heloguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0

    ****ATTENTION ALL Q9M OWNERS****

    the names of the files for the Q9M are as follows:

    VZW_Sync.png
    VZW_Image.png
    VZW_Question.png
    VZW_Exclemation.png
    VZW_Information.png
    VZW_Calling.png
    VZW_Volume.png

    Enjoy!
  18. 65heloguy

    65heloguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    RB,
    I cant figure out how to get the sync screen to work. I use ActiveSync, and cannot locate an original .png file in \Windows\ root menu. any ideas how to get this to work?
  19. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    ActiveSync on my Q does not have a splash screen...

    did you unhide hidden & system files.

    potQ.
  20. 65heloguy

    65heloguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes I did. there isn't anything there for activesync. gotta go for now. about to walk into madison square garden to see Van Halen.

Share This Page