Replace Verizon Branding with Motorola

Discussion in 'Moto Q Hacks' started by wnrussell, Jan 24, 2009.

  1. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, thanks for the info.
  2. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Any time :smile:
  3. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmmm.....I overwrote the file with a different image and when I dial it still says Verizonwireless above the numbers being enter.
  4. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Did you reboot? Dunno what to tell you, that's the file I overwrote.


    EDIT: Try 16_brick_131.gif
  5. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, always reboot. The first one changed the image once a call was connected. However that did the trick, thx.
  6. masterdelusion

    masterdelusion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay since we are on the topic...
    i tried the old method of doing this by putting the file inside of the windows folder and renaming the registry file.

    It didn't work. I have a sprint phone and i see that all the other phones are verizon and att????

    How can i fix this?

    I did the old gadget way....:angry:

    yeah nevermind, figured it out jpeg ends in .jpg....dur...
  7. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Hey, wnrussell . . . Thanks a million !!!! (and I did) Worked like a charm on my nap and looks and sounds GREAT. THRILLED to be rid of that unseemly VZW crap. Thanks again, man !!!!! :) -Q
  8. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, now for the dummy...I didn't see any files to download. LOL!!
  9. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^Just right mouse click on each pic and do a "Save image" to your comp somewhere
  10. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, yeah but how does that long 'jpg turn into an animation?
  11. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Once you save the file to your comp copy if over to your phone and the place it in the /Windows folder and it will animate. Shouldn't have to do anything to it. I just did it about 10mins ago on another Nap I just got and all is good to go.
  12. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll give it a whirl
  13. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    YIPPEE!! I did it!

    Now, the music loads up as a Quicktime file.
  14. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the animation done. The music files do not play.
  15. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are they named as? If I recall correctly I had to rename them I'll see if I have then handy and paste the names for ya. They should be in *.wav format as an fyi tho

    Edit found them so here ya go.

    vzw_startup_sound
    vzw_power_up
    vzw_power_down
  16. wnrussell

    wnrussell Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Likes Received:
    1
    I still have the wav files posted in the first post, just under the long animated image. Just right-click and Save As.
  17. Aixelsyd

    Aixelsyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    true but depending on the device the names are different I think which is why I posted the info I did.
  18. My-Q

    My-Q New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have named the files to what you indicated. I am using a Q9c. Now, I have replaced the origin splash screens at the startup and shutdown
  19. Brent372

    Brent372 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anybody figured out how to get rid of the VZW logo that comes up BEFORE the animation?
  20. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    It's in the ROM - you can't remove it. Been tryin' for ages. My c is totaly MOTO except for THAT . . . sadly. :) -Q

Share This Page