remote?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by blackmeto, Aug 11, 2009.

  1. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    remote?

    is there a way that i can have photoshop running on my desktop upstairs but controlling it from a laptop in the den?
  2. gnath9

    gnath9 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes ...... just set up a remote desktop connection.
  3. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    whats wrong with remote desktop connection?
    its free and comes with the computer

    i have it setup on many computers so i can control them all from my home laptop
    you have full access
  5. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    He didn't say OS and might be suffering from a common confusion point. Remote desktop is only on XP Pro. XP Home doesn't support remote desktop, but supports remote assistance, which is vastly different and requires the controlled end to initiate a RA call and then grant you access when you connect.

    If you're using something like XP Home or other OS systems, look into something like VNC. TightVNC is probably the best, and smallest footprint VNC server out there. UltraVNC works quite well also, but I have had problems with it through certain firewalls, although that wouldn't apply between your upstairs and downstairs PC.

    If however you're using XP Pro, remote desktop is a great solution. Once you figure out that the drive mappings are the reverse of intuitive, you'll be all set on transferring files as well.
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    are you sure....my netbook runs xp home and i use remote desktop to connect to windows xp pro and windows server 2003...

    -Sent from my Q9n
  7. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can run the client from XP home, but not the server side.

    The client is just an exe (%SystemRoot%\System32\mstsc.exe)

    Can copy that to anywhere, any machine.
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    sorry not sure i still understand
    so you cant go from XP Pro to XP Home but can go from XP Home to XP Pro?
  9. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0

    That's essentially correct, let me work on my wording.

    Server = machine you're logging in *to*
    Client = machine you're logging in *from*
    You can *not* run a remote desktop *server* on XP Home
    You *can* run a remote desktop *server* on XP Pro
    You can run a remote desktop *client* on either.
    Also, remote *desktop* is a completely different application from remote *assistance*

    So,

    From XP Home, using remote desktop to log into XP Pro --> No Problem
    From XP Pro using remote desktop to log into XP Pro --> No Problem
    From XP Pro using remote desktop to log into XP Home --> No Work
    Using remote assistance, any combination will work, but it's a completely different app, requiring progressive assignment of privs via user intervention, from the *server* side (i.e., the person you're trying to help)

    So,

    If you need to do remote control of an XP Home box, your best bet is using a remote control server/client app, of which there are many.

    I personally like Tight VNC, located at http://www.tightvnc.com/

    There are also solutions like Ultra VNC, located at http://www.uvnc.com/

    I've used Remotely Anywhere (http://www.remotelyanywhere.com/) in earlier versions and it also worked well with good support. It is not a freeware app.

    Please also note that Remote Dekstop is *NOT* an effective tool for teaching / tutoring someone by taking over the machine and showing them, as the *server* side screen blanks to blue when a remote desktop session is active. That is not the case with solutions like VNC and others.

    This is probably way more than you wanted to know, but I wanted to use explicit wording and give some very quick pros and cons.
  10. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry i do have xp pro on the desktop but not the laptop
  11. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then the suggested solution of Remote Desktop would work for you in that the server is the desktop running XP Pro and the client is your laptop, running XP Home. Other apps, such as VNC, etc would also work. Pros and cons to each.

    The link you posted was essentially a VNC variant for controlling a remote computer via your phone and while it works, (I've done it), I can't even begin to fathom how you could be effective in Photoshop using that solution, but that's just my opinion and your mileage may vary.
  12. blackmeto

    blackmeto Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,772
    Likes Received:
    0
    coo thanks bob!
  13. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    thank Bob!
    *the more you know!* :laugh2:

Share This Page