Q9m Homescreen

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9m' started by jeff1974w, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. jeff1974w

    jeff1974w New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Q9m Homescreen

    just checked out the new phone on the vzw website, and i must say its pretty sharp looking. i must say that i dont like the new layout of the keyboard (the space bar is too small) and feature for feature the old and new Q seem to be the same except for the fact that the new Q has WM6.

    but the main reason for my post is that i really like the home screen on the new Q (the round screen) and was wondering if anyone had it and could post it on here for us old Q users?:laugh2:
  2. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    you mean the red'ish screen ? guess it can be made/adapted for the "regular" Q..
  3. jeff1974w

    jeff1974w New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    ya, i didnt know if someone had a new q9 if they could just upload the file for us old q users
  4. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    i wonder if that will actually work
    since i read in one of the reviews that you cant customize that homescreen...it is what it is and if we dont have the programs in that same location it wont work...

    but you can always give it a try
  5. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    if that is the case i would consider that a step backwards.. maybe even 2-3 steps, that is one of the great things of the Q, you can make it look like you want to...
  6. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    well you can change the q9m homescreen to how we use ours...but what i meant was that the 'media' screen is probably q9m specific since it uses programs for the media device
    and that that 'media' screen is the way it is and cant be customized so us old Q users cant change it

    does that make any sense?
  7. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    strangely enough, yes once again you make sense (or i am so far gone i am starting to understand you :} we can use and alter the screen, but we don't have access to the apps... correct ? weren't you getting a new(er) Q ?
  8. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    wow you can understand that...amazing!

    but you CANT alter the media screen
    but you can (on the Q9m) turn that off and use a homescreen like we have on the regular Q

    i was going to get it but then i heard about the potential for a Q9c with verizon so im going to hold out
    i mean its not like my current Q is breaking and falling apart so i have no problem waiting
    then again i am available for an upgrade should anything happen!
  9. troutseth

    troutseth Guest

    You two are having a love-fest. :laugh2:
  10. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was a little amazed myself :}

    i still remain of the opinion that i like the "generation one" Q the best.. looks-wise that is. you can't be due for an update that fast can you ?
  11. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    any chance you are jealous ? :}
  12. troutseth

    troutseth Guest


    who doesn't want to be loved? of course I will take a 5'4 redhead female over you two . . but beggers can't be choosers.:tounge:
  13. bkartheiser

    bkartheiser New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have this file to upload. I would like to put this on my Q9m that is running 6.1. I should have kept a backup but I didn't think I was going to like 6.1 that much and was just going to go back to 6 but it's actually nice.
  14. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if your referring to the media screen i dont think it will work after it has been updated to 6.1
  15. rudeboy

    rudeboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    never the less.... welcome aboard.
  16. bkartheiser

    bkartheiser New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's gone but I think I could easily get it to work if I had the program since there are instructions for remapping buttons. That is how I got VCast Music. I just copied and pasted it out of program files and then I put a shortcut on the start menu.



    Thanks. I have been a lurker for years. I got a silver q the day it came out full retail and got a black q and q9m for subsequent uprgrades. I guess I'm a glutton for punishment!
  17. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    its not a program
    its a homescreen that has im sure dll's or something else that allow it to run
    and once you installed the 6.1 that does not carry those file then it wont work

    so you would need someone very nice to search for those files and post them here
  18. bkartheiser

    bkartheiser New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bet. Maybe I'll be the nice guy. I just gotta find a 6.0 file...

    EDIT: I did a little searching and I think I can revert it back. I will update if I can isolate the files!
  19. tierrie

    tierrie New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good luck! Keep us posted

Share This Page